Vintage Mustang Forums banner

J code 302 cast iron heads porting

12K views 57 replies 14 participants last post by  zhlange 
#1 ·
I bought a set of bare iron heads per title. I'm planning to port match the exhaust side. I know I need the gasket and exhaust manifolds to port match the heads. But my question is do I need to 'completely' grind the 'bump' on the first two pictures? Also, does it help to port match the intake side with the intake manifolds? I've decided not to use aluminum heads. Thank you.

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
I have no hands-on porting experience, but, will add, port matching intake to heads is a "good thing" with benefits in performance.
The question is, if you're putting your own labor into porting, valve work etc., this is one thing, if you're paying for labor and experience, then, you might compare costs with researching performance gains in purchasing a well known set of aluminum heads with improved flow. Just my take on this.......

#5 ·
I am aware of the upsides on using an aftermarket aluminum heads. I just decided to use an iron heads. I will be doing the porting job myself. Other than that, the machine shop that did my block can do the rest for $500 to rebuild the pair. That is with new valves, hardened exhaust valve seats, hot tank, clean, resurface, and install new springs and screw in studs. I have to provide the springs and screw in studs. I paid $60 for the bare set. So, worst case scenario, I'll be around $1000 at the most (gave myself some cushion there). I think that is still a good deal.

#3 ·