Vintage Mustang Forums banner

My 1967 build

13K views 85 replies 11 participants last post by  jerrytotin 
#1 · (Edited)
I was encouraged by others to start a build thread, so here we go.

First a little background. My brother owned a 1967 when I was in high school. Right before I graduated he actually let me drive it a few times. I loved the look of mustangs for a long time, and now I get a chance to save a classic.

About the car. I have been looking for just the right car for many years. What does the "right car" look like for me. Well it needed to be fairly rust free, decent body lines and be in overall ok shape. I found this one on craigslist a couple of hours away and spent 2 hours giving the once, twice, three times over look. I knew there were rust issues that were going to need to be addressed, but they seemed kinda usual for a stang and I figured why not. The car was already blown apart and will need lots of parts that I know are missing. I have a lot now but not near enough to finish it.

So in the middle of September she came home with me. Below are some of the pictures from the original craigslist ad and the progress I have made so far.

I should add that I have never done this type of work before. I have rebuilt a few engines and do my own repairs, but this is a whole different level. I'm sure that with your help this will be awesome car once it's finished.

These are photos from craigslist.

Ray

Attachments

See less See more
#3 · (Edited)
Where to start? I knew the quarter panels for sure would need work. How much I wasn't sure and I needed to see what I was up against. So an exploratory hole was cut. Ummm ok about what I figured or maybe hoping for. So a bit more cutting to see how far the damage extended.