repo HiPo Xhaust manifold - Vintage Mustang Forums
Vintage Mustang Forum
HomeForumGalleryClassifiedsAbout UsAdvertiseContact Us
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Go Back   Vintage Mustang Forums > General Discussion > Concours Forum
Vintage-Mustang.com is the premier Ford Mustang Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 11-05-2008, 07:15 PM   #1 (permalink)

Okay, this is my first attempt at posting pictures -- hope it works.

So, has anyone else noticed the passenger ( right ) side of the reproduction HiPo exhaust manifold is crap ?? The ( 8 ) bolt holes should be about 3/32" to 1/8" ABOVE the centerline of the manifold rectangular port holes. See the second photo down where the holes are 3/32" to 1/8" BELOW the port hole centerline. This misalignment means there is only about 1/16" of gasket sandwiched between the manifold and the cylinder head -- see bottom photo. I am very concerned this will blow out and leak in the future. The vendor checked their stock and all of their passenger sides manifolds have this issue. The vendor will gladly take these back and give me a credit based on the shipping charge I incur. I believe these repo manifolds are cast overseas. Crap, I even purchased the associated H-pipe and was planning to install these on my '66 GT. Now what ?? Could I have material added ( welded ) at the top of the port windows so there is a larger gasket sealing surface AND grind out the port window at the bottom ?? Basically, move the port window down so it will align with the gasket

Driver side manifold bolt holes are offset ABOVE centerline of port holes ( perfect casting )

Passenger side manifold bolt holes are offset BELOW port holes -- WRONG

Felpro gasket lines up perfect w/ driver side manifold

gasket does NOT line up w/ passenger side manifold

gasket pulled down slightly -- notice the port hole peaking out above the gasket
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-05-2008, 07:19 PM   #2 (permalink)