64.5 Power Steering Pumps - Vintage Mustang Forums
Vintage Mustang Forum
HomeForumGalleryClassifiedsAbout UsAdvertiseContact Us
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Go Back   Vintage Mustang Forums > General Discussion > Concours Forum
Vintage-Mustang.com is the premier Ford Mustang Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 11-15-2010, 10:36 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default 64.5 Power Steering Pumps

Hello all,

I'm a newbie to this forum; so if this question has been asked before, please forgive me.

A little background...

I have an early 64.5 (April 15, 1964 DOB) that I've owned for 30 years. My kids are pretty much out of the house now leaving me with more time and money to do what I want for a change. I started doing research on my car and discovered that it was originally equipped with power steering. Sometime before I bought the car, the complete power steering system was removed, except for the cylinder mount bracket on the frame rail. I had always wondered what that bracket was for and when I decoded the steering box tag, I found out.

From what I've been able to piece together from articles and pictures on the Internet, I assume it should be equipped with an Eaton pump with an integral tank since I do NOT have A/C. I also know that I will need hoses, brackets, the proper drag link, tie rod ends, control valve, cylinder, bolts, nuts, etc.

I have seen pictures of both cast iron and stamped steel pump brackets for this car, but I am unsure which one is correct for my build date. I'm assuming cast iron, but not totally for sure. I'm hoping someone might have a detailed picture or two of what this setup should look like.

I'm hoping there are a few knowledgeable people out there who can provide some assistance and correct my assumptions. Any help or guidance would be much appreciated.

Any recommendations as to where obtain a "complete" PS system?