E7 Heads - Vintage Mustang Forums
Vintage Mustang Forum
HomeForumGalleryClassifiedsAbout UsAdvertiseContact Us
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Go Back   Vintage Mustang Forums > General Discussion > Mod and Custom Forum
Vintage-Mustang.com is the premier Ford Mustang Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 02-05-2009, 12:27 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default E7 Heads

I'm no motor expert so I'll give as many details as I can. If something don't sound right, call me on it. Here goes...

I recently got a real good deal a rebuilt '65 289 with Keith Black (flat top) pistons, .030 over, rebuilt stock heads, a bigger Summit Cam SUM-3602 (Camshaft, Hydraulic Flat Tappet, Advertised Duration 292/ 302, Lift .520/ .544), Torker II Intake, and a Carter 600cmf carb. My understanding is the guy who sold it built if for a Ranchero and junked it because it was a complete rust bucket. So the motor only has about 3000 miles on it. I have the heads/intake off of it now.

I know cam is too big for the stock heads. Still has pressed studs. I don't like the rpm range of the cam anyways. So I've been looking for some gt40 heads and possibly a XE262 or XE268 Comp cam with a performer intake. Not easily finding the gt40 heads but I've come across some E7 heads of of a '93 mustang for $200 that have new springs and valves with less than 3000 miles on them.

Would the E7 heads be worth my time or should I keep patient in my search. Or are they even compatible? I don't have the money currently to go buy a new set of aftermarket heads and I'm getting impatient cause I would like to drive the car this spring.

Thanks all for your time!

67 Coupe, Stock 1971 302 but will be changing to a 289 that I'm "makin' some changes to". T5. Granada spindles.
nzabka is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-05-2009, 12:44 PM   #2 (permalink)