AOD TV cable adjustment - Vintage Mustang Forums
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-13-2009, 11:09 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 438
AOD TV cable adjustment

I am fixing to try and set the TV cable and pressure in an AOD transmission. It is new to the car and I am a novice at this. I have read and re-read the procedure. I have hose running from the TV pressure port on the side of the transmission with a pressure gauge attached to the end. Once thing that concerns me is that while in park and the engine running, I don't seem to have any pressure, as in, I see no fluid entering the hose. Should there be pressure in the transmission to fill the hose and give a reading while in park, or when I shift it to neutral to set the pressure, that is when the hose will fill up?
BigStudly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-14-2009, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 402
Send a message via AIM to Bill73ragtop
I posted the a series of the exact same question last fall when I was attempting to set my pressure in my 69 vert when I had the same issue. I never received a definitive answer. BTW - brand new TCI AOD.

I had the car on stands so I could check in gear as well as in park / neutral. I would set the pressure in neutral at 5 - 7 lbs. When I shifted to park the pressure would drop to 0#. The thing that puzzled me the most was I could never get a consistent pressure reading. If I had it set where I finally saw 5 - 7# in park and turned the car off, the next time I started it, the pressure would anywhere from 3# - 0#. I stopped at a local transmission shop and was told it should be the same in netral and park. I was also told at the shop to set it at 10# to start, drive it and adjust it after feeling the shifts (more pressure - harder shift). I was able to set it at 10# and have that same pressure after driving and shutting it down (but some other issues cropped up like stuttering in gear after sitting at a light, failure to shift into 3rd or 4th unless the pedal was WOT, etc.). Then I ran out of weather (Nov. in WNY) so I parked it in the garage and put the cover over it. My first task when spring arrives (mid-April) will be to figure out what the problems are and fix them. One of the guys in our local car club is a 35+ year transmission specialist, he said he'll come over, drive it and we'll get the bottom of it. When I do, I'll write it up and post it.

Did I answer your question -- apparently not. But I had to post since I now know I'm not alone with the AOD question.

Bill73 Conv
Buffalo, NY
1973 Conv
1969 Conv
Bill73ragtop is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-14-2009, 09:00 AM
Moderator
 
CantedValve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Huntertown, Indiana
Posts: 5,906
Send a message via AIM to CantedValve
I have also heard that, for most cases, you install the cable, take the slack out of it, and be done with it.
CantedValve is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-14-2009, 02:25 PM
Senior Member
 
scrogg67's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: south central Ilinois
Posts: 247
Big Studly, let me know how many total hours you have in the Conversion when you are done. Im going to take my tranny out tomorrow and swap it for a 91 gt tranny... thanks Craig

formally known as malibu see my(1967 mustang GTA) http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3203865
scrogg67 is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-14-2009, 03:28 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 438
Bill73conv,

you helped a little...sounds like I need to put it in neutral next time I start it up and see what happens.

scruggdogg,

time for the conversion? Months maybe!!

just kidding. I put the tranny in when I put a new engine in. I did it all at once, so I really cant' give you a good answer for hours spent.
BigStudly is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-14-2009, 07:06 PM
Senior Member
 
cmayna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Menlo Park, CA.
Posts: 10,775
Are you guys using Lokar's TV cable? The instructions should be able to help. Nevertheless here's another good site that I used a lot when I did this job.

Link

'50 Chevy 1/2......'65 coupe/302/AOD......'68 fb/351c/T5Z
cmayna is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-15-2009, 05:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Alabama
Posts: 4,812
One hint I have about adjusting the cable, I have done several of these and rebuilt one '90 AOD that is still working perfectly. Take a zip tie or two and put in front of the block to shorten the cable a bit and drive, to adjust the shift zones and you will know how much more to adjust the adjustment block. Then remove the ties to adjust permanently. Just a quick way to see if you need more adjustment to get the shifts where you desire them to be.
gwstang is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-16-2009, 08:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 402
Send a message via AIM to Bill73ragtop
I have the Lokar cable and a printout of the link (as well as 5 or 6 other printouts from various sources). Thanks.

It's interesting that some sources say "..not less than 5# at idle..." The Bauman site says "..between 0# - 5#.." which is why I figured 5# would be the target to hit.

Nevertheless, as much as I would try to get a consistent 5# reading at idle; it never worked out to my satisfaction. Part of my problem (caution) comes from being very concerned at burning up a new AOD.

Bill73 Conv
Buffalo, NY
1973 Conv
1969 Conv
Bill73ragtop is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-16-2009, 11:10 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 438
AOD TV cable adjustment

I think I have figured out what to do. I sent an e-mail to Ken at badshoeproductions.com. He knows his stuff, so I figured he would be a good source to contact. His information along with reading up on this subject, here is what I think.

at idle, the pressure should be between 0-5#. That is without the specialty tool between the end of the cable and the cable connection to the carb. When you insert the specialty tool (which is essentially a spacer), you should have a reading on the pressure gauge in the TV pressure port of about 30#'s. Those pressure are with the transmission in neutral by the way.

The specialty tool can be purchased online from various web sites, or you can make one. It is essentially a spacer that is .275" long (thick). It simulates throttle movement, which gives the transmission its pressure.

It seems that this is the calibration point of the transmission. Once this position is set, the transmission will work properly.

I plan on making the spacer, because at $55 a pop, that is just too outrageous. If anything, that will get me in the ball park and if I determine I don't like the way the transmission is acting, I can get it to transmission shop to set it without fear of burning up the transmission while trying to drive it there.

I guess I have answered my own question in that, when calibrated properly, at idle without using the specialty tool (which is the case I was wondering I had no fluid in my tube connected to the TV port), you should have no pressure, or very little.
BigStudly is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-17-2009, 08:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 402
Send a message via AIM to Bill73ragtop
Unfortunately I cannot fit the gauge tool into my linkage setup. I have one loaned to me by a friend. Yes, very little trans fluid in the line at below 5#

I have a custom EFI setup (stock 302 converted to EFI) so between the fuel rails and the linkage, I can't slip it on the cable without causing a bind.

Bill73 Conv
Buffalo, NY
1973 Conv
1969 Conv
Bill73ragtop is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-18-2009, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Tonica, Illinois
Posts: 213
I had mine done at the ford garage. Put the car on the trailer took it to them and they set it for like $50. I have heard that TCI is making a valve body now for the aod that takes car of the pressure itself. The linkage would just be used for shifting. My dad just told me this yesterday as we are putting an aod in his 39 ford panel truck he is building right now. He says he is going to buy it so you dont have to screw around with any of this. I thought he said price was $250.

69 Mustang Conv 57k mile Total Resto
37 2dr Sedan project rod
00 Dodge Viper GTS 10k miles Steel Gray w/Silver Stripes-Lots of Mods
03 Volkswagon Jetta TDI Yes its a diesel!
blueoval69 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Vintage Mustang Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome