Monte Carlo Bar, A/C, & MSD - Vintage Mustang Forums

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-21-2009, 07:36 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
69 Rustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 2,159
Monte Carlo Bar, A/C, & MSD

I went to install my curved Monte Carlo bar today and found it interferes with my A/C Compressor and brackets. I have a curved one to allow clearance to my MSD distributor and for ease of other maintenance. The curved bar I tried to install is a bit older, have they revised the curve on these to allow them to fit A/C cars? What have others done here? Pics?

Dave

1996 Mustang Cobra Convertible (Procharged/423 RWHP)
1969 Fastback, 351C, TKO 600, T-lock, Shaker, slats, fold down, yadda yadda, etc.
1972 Mach 1, 351C, FMX
1931 Model A Station Wagon 150B



Here are my cars:
http://members.dslextreme.com/users/...gEmporium.html
69 Rustang is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-12-2009, 11:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Abingdon, VA
Posts: 239
I had to grind off one of the (unused) ears on my compressor (R-134 conversion) to miss my curved Monte Carlo bar.

Jason

1966 Mustang GT 2+2 289/5-Speed
2007 BMW 335i Coupe
2006 Ford Fusion
1988 Chevrolet K1500
JLester is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-13-2009, 11:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Newton, Kansas
Posts: 183
Monte Carlo Bar, A/C, & MSD

What kind of A/C compressor are you using? The stock Ford or aftermarket Sandon? I was wondering beacuse I want to do the same thing.
Philster is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-14-2009, 12:02 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
69 Rustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 2,159
I have the aftermarket Sanden. The instructions call for using the factory upper bracket, which appears necessary because of the idler pulley.

I actually bought a straight bar at a swap meet to cut apart and make my own curve to weld back in that clears the offending items, then I will get it powder coated or something.

Dave

1996 Mustang Cobra Convertible (Procharged/423 RWHP)
1969 Fastback, 351C, TKO 600, T-lock, Shaker, slats, fold down, yadda yadda, etc.
1972 Mach 1, 351C, FMX
1931 Model A Station Wagon 150B



Here are my cars:
http://members.dslextreme.com/users/...gEmporium.html
69 Rustang is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-17-2009, 11:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Newton, Kansas
Posts: 183
I installed a curved Monte Carlo bar yesterday. I didn't use the straight one because it wouldn't clear my MSD dist. I am also using a Sanden A/C compressor. The curve didn't actually touch it, but it was close enough to one of the none-used mounts, I ground it down some first.
Philster is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-18-2009, 07:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Roswell, GA
Posts: 239
Curved bar doesn't even come close to the compressor.


SNAKEPILOT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Vintage Mustang Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome