Adding Fuse Box - Vintage Mustang Forums
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-01-2013, 05:30 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,146
Default Adding Fuse Box


I'm in the middle of taking the car apart getting it ready for a bunch of new items to install and I was just wondering if I should add another fuse box?

New Things being added:
Dual Ford Contour Fan
DCC Control - has built in 85A relay
Electric fuel pump - bought relay already based on one of my other threads

Already have my headlights set up on a relay from a company that I don't remember as I did it a number of years ago.

Thoughts on this or what would you suggest?
Painless Performance: CirKit Boss®™ Auxiliary Fuse Block/7 Circuits

If I go with the above or another one, can you use a relay for things after the intial one in the block itself?

kwkenf is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-03-2013, 08:44 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,146

I'm sure some of you have put in "extra" fuse boxes?
kwkenf is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-03-2013, 09:21 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,205

I don't know how difficult that will be, but you will like having that added protection. My AAW kit is nice because nearly everything electrical on the car is fused. I don't worry as much about electrical fires.

- 347 Stroker - 417 HP, 416 lb. ft torque
- Holley Terminator EFI (Installation Thread)
- 4 speed Toploader
- American Autowire Installation (VMF & CJPP)
66FSTBCK is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-03-2013, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 1,209
Default carries a lot of automotive type wiring components.
It should not be hard to add an additional fuse box.
Jsams is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-03-2013, 10:16 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 643

I installed one of these (mine is a 6 fuse) where my battery should be.


Picked it up at oreilly's and built some nice supply wires. Double crimp with shrink tube.

I ran a few new wires into the cab. One carries +12 in on a heavy gauge wire, 1 is from the Ignition circuit. I added two relays (one for run and one for crank) and eliminated my fender mounted solenoid (My ministarter has one built in).

I did most of this when I installed my duraspark system (which is AWESOME compared to points BTW).

I plan on adding a circuit for an electric fan but right now 2 of the 6 positions just hold spare fuses. My car is built to drive, not really for show.

88cougargt is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-03-2013, 12:40 PM
Senior Member
DrStang's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Palm Springs, California
Posts: 2,241

I installed that exact box into my car. Yes, you can use a relay post box. I've used an additional relay for my fuel pump.

Although there is a relay included in the setup, it controls 7 circuts. Being A-R at times, I added one for the pump.

It's a quality piece. You'll need a connection from the battery and then a tap into the existing fuse box to trigger the ignition hot wires.

"A good friend will help you move. A great friend will help you move a dead body"

1965 A-Code Fastback
Built, September 14, 1964 (San Jose)
Viper red, White/red interior
TCP R&P, G Bar rear 4 link/w shockwaves
Global West Upper/Lower/Strut Rods
Ride-Tech Air ride
4 wheel Cobra disc brakes/Hydroboost
363 Stroker/Paxton Supercharger
Mass-Flo EFI
Owned since 1983
DrStang is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-03-2013, 01:33 PM
Senior Member
68EFIvert's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Camas, WA
Posts: 2,142

I used that same box on my car as well. Pretty easy hook up as DrStang said.

1968 Convertible
333 with 555 rwhp and 486 rwtq, EFI, Vortech V2 trim blower with 11.5 lbs of boost, H2O/Meth Injection, T56 6 speed, JMC clutch, Steeroids rack, Ron Morris Front and TCP G-bar Rear Coilovers, Cobra brakes, Boyd Magneato wheels. Basically a money pit.
68EFIvert is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-03-2013, 02:12 PM
Senior Member
sanch052's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 870

Check out this article:
Wiring for 12 Volts Key On
Good ideas even if your not a member.
sanch052 is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-03-2013, 03:42 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ontario
Posts: 11,908

I added one beside the solenoid under the hood. I have a lead coming form the solenoid to the little box, and I'm using it for headlights, fans, etc.
JohnnyK is offline  
Sponsored Links

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Vintage Mustang Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome