FiTech settings, Tweaks, Adjustments - Page 2 - Vintage Mustang Forums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16 of 33 (permalink) Old 04-27-2016, 10:33 PM
Senior Member
 
CrackrStang71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 1,050
When I take the car out this weekend, I report what I see when I data log and also some of my specs, changes and how they respond.

Good start to a thread here.

Chaz

'71 Fastback
9in 31 spline 4.30 Winters Performance True Trac, 4r70w manual valve body and hardened gear set, 408w with 225 High Ports, FTI Solid Roller cam, Super Vic; Aluminum MMC driveshaft, 3" Exhaust.
CrackrStang71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 33 (permalink) Old 04-28-2016, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
chucks66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 151
I was also able to get my IAC steps to between 5-10 and boy what a difference. The one weird thing is that the Fuel Learn was consistently very negative (in the 20's) and whenever I would stab the throttle and do some gear pulls, I would be getting down to the mid tens in AFR. I was actually at a track day and I called Fitech, they told me to actually reduce the cubic inches size of the motor, so the computer would be closer on the learn side of things. It really seemed to help!

Also, another note if people have this issue, change your "accel" and "fast accel" settings (increase the percentage, like a pump shot) so you don't have any lean spots when shifting from gear to gear (for manual trans I guess).

I guess the only last problem I have is up around WOT 5500 RPM's the motor starts "buzzing" and loses power, I'm guessing its a timing thing I need to figure out (I have the FiTech unit controlling timing) before I blow up my motor!

66 Coupe - N/A 351W 425HP - Levy Racing T5 - Homemade EPAS - Maier Racing Suspension - FiTech EFI

chucks66 is offline  
post #18 of 33 (permalink) Old 05-06-2016, 05:17 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: LI NY
Posts: 330
Just another pass along from tech support call. After you change a value, write to ECU and then power down (power down occurs when in dashboard screen and values go blank

Larry

Grabber Blu is offline  
 
post #19 of 33 (permalink) Old 05-07-2016, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 287
Something that I noticed on mine, after making a change with the handheld I hit, write to ECU. I then hit READ FROM ECU, sometimes the change that I just made will show up and sometimes it wont, or the change will appear but it will be slightly different from what I just put in so I have to re do it.
I guess my point here is check your ECU to make sure your changes were accepted correctly.
v1rotate is offline  
post #20 of 33 (permalink) Old 04-25-2017, 07:59 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1
ENGINE SIZE/ SPECs:
351 .040 over... so 358w running ethonal (e85) base setup is listed as a 445c.i...
single plane vic jr., retro hyd. Roller, 575/590 1.7r.r's... single turbo 78mm ball bearing

TRANS: Reid powerglide Pro mod build 3000hp capable

FITECH SETUP USED:
1200 Power Adder (timing control and controlling electric fan)

FUEL system:
Automotive A1000
-10 feed split into 2, -6 return blocked and using 3rd feed as regulated (boost ref) return to fuel cell with -8an

ENGINE VACUUM:
7~8 in Park

CAM SETTING (1,2,3, or 4) AND SPECS:
3 currently might try 4

IAC COUNTS @ idle and cruise
4-7 in Park

TIMING CONTROL: Y/N?
Yes
13.5 at start
Then adv to 38*, mid-low 30's at cruise
27,23.5 and 17 under boost


IDLE RPM:
900

TARGET IDLE AFR:
14.0:1

ANY ADJUSTED PARAMETERS & WHY

I've messed with the IAC, loop up and down for IAC count, cold start is a beast... and when getting warm it kinda has a stumble when starting. When HOT FML.... it's cranks, and cranks and cranks... no start...
I've messed with start 170 up to max in steps of 10, and down about 30 and nothing.... I've messed with JAX during crank up to max with nothing... and down about -25 with no change...?

I'm lost... any suggestions?
Daniel Holland is offline  
post #21 of 33 (permalink) Old 04-25-2017, 09:48 PM
fej
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 870
Go to chevelles dot com and look at their EFI thread under performance I think. Tons of knowledge there and I am working my way through the 129 page thread for tuning tips. Can't point to an immediate fix but I believe that someone talks about that in the first 10-12 pages.

G'luck. I will say the FiTech forum and FAQ is a lot better than it was 6 months ago in terms of information, might want to look in there as well.

Fej

1966 GT Coupe
Not much left original
Trying to do things once
MMI CO / Panhard ~ JRI / Penske ~ Astro A5 ~ FiTech ~ MGW ~ AAW
fej is online now  
post #22 of 33 (permalink) Old 04-25-2017, 10:05 PM
Senior Member
 
coolblue65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Algonquin, IL
Posts: 722
Garage
Send a message via AIM to coolblue65
If you are on Facebook there is a fantastic group called "FiTech Owners Group" that is well worth joining, lots of great advice.



ET: 12.7@109 mph
ENGINE: FiTech EFI, DSS 347, AFR 185s, Vic Jr, XE274HR cam, MSD ign, Hooker Headers, Magnaflow exhaust
DRIVELINE: Tremec 3550, Pro 5.0, Fidanza AL Flywheel, McCleod clutch, 3.55's, 13" GT Front & Cobra Rear brakes
SUSPENSION: 17" TTII's, 235/45 tires, 620 coils, Shelby drop, 1" & 3/4" sway bars, Monte Carlo bar, S&T strut rods, Bilsteins, & roller perches
coolblue65 is offline  
post #23 of 33 (permalink) Old 05-08-2017, 08:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Tubbster1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kitsap County, WA
Posts: 848
Finally got everything installed. Primed the FCC like the instructions said and she fired right up. Stumbled a bit but I could tell it was learning. After about 10mins idling it was butter smooth.


That got me thinking. Was I supposed to adjust the idle screw at all? Nothing was said about that in the instructions I got, but I read about it online in different forums. It idles just fine for me. The only thing I've got to figure out is this god awful stiff throttle spring. Man its like head snapping stepping on the throttle just slightly.

1966 Mustang Coupe, 289, 4v
Tubbster1966 is online now  
post #24 of 33 (permalink) Old 05-09-2017, 01:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Rowland Heights, Ca
Posts: 188
Make sure to set your IAC's between 3-10. Also make sure the fuel pump PWM is set to 40 for the fuel command center. Move your throttle arm to the uppermost hole on the linkage.

1965 Mustang Fastback- 349 clutch killer, 70MM turbo,FiTech Go EFI 8, TMI Sport XR interior,Centerforce DIYAD,18" TSW, Master Power big brakes
Super Ford Magazine cover '99
Muscle Mustangs and Fast Fords Cover '00
Modified Mustang and Fast Ford cover '11
Power & Performance 6/15
SEMA 2014 and SEMA 2017

2006 Ford F250-10" lift, King Coil overs, 6000 watt stereo, 370 rwhp/722 ft lbs tq, smoking 38's and rolling coal

1966 VW Fastback- 17" 8 Spokes, 2276cc cruiser
Iskwezm is offline  
post #25 of 33 (permalink) Old 05-09-2017, 06:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Tubbster1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kitsap County, WA
Posts: 848
I'm know for sure in the instructions it says if using the FCC to set it at 40. I cant even hear the pump when it's at idle. I will check the IAC next time I fire her up.

As far as the linkage goes, I have a thread in another area on the forum. I'm thinking it's on the throttle arm where my problem is.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

1966 Mustang Coupe, 289, 4v
Tubbster1966 is online now  
post #26 of 33 (permalink) Old 05-16-2017, 07:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Tubbster1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kitsap County, WA
Posts: 848
So I've been reading and I'm unsure how to increase the idle speed when cold? Other than that now it runs awesome, still learning, but much better.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

1966 Mustang Coupe, 289, 4v
Tubbster1966 is online now  
post #27 of 33 (permalink) Old 05-16-2017, 09:56 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: LI NY
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tubbster1966 View Post
So I've been reading and I'm unsure how to increase the idle speed when cold? Other than that now it runs awesome, still learning, but much better.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
There's no setting for cold idle speed,why do you want to adjust it, does it stall?

Larry

Grabber Blu is offline  
post #28 of 33 (permalink) Old 05-16-2017, 01:03 PM
Senior Member
 
coolblue65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Algonquin, IL
Posts: 722
Garage
Send a message via AIM to coolblue65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tubbster1966 View Post
So I've been reading and I'm unsure how to increase the idle speed when cold? Other than that now it runs awesome, still learning, but much better.
You only set your desired idle speed when engine is warm. When cold, the system will keep your rpm 150 to 200 rpm higher as needed until warm.
coolblue65 is offline  
post #29 of 33 (permalink) Old 05-16-2017, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Tubbster1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kitsap County, WA
Posts: 848
FiTech settings, Tweaks, Adjustments

I guess I need to get out of the carbureted mindset. I was so used to my cold idle being higher.. but it makes sense to not have to idle as high as a carbureted car. Thanks guys

It does idle higher when cold, just not as high as when it was carbureted.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

1966 Mustang Coupe, 289, 4v
Tubbster1966 is online now  
post #30 of 33 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 11:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Tubbster1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kitsap County, WA
Posts: 848
So a few issues today. Drove it about 80 miles today. So about 120 miles since installing it.
1. I have a hunting idle at first startup. Takes about 15 seconds or so to clear. When I shut down and start real quick it's fine.
2. Cold startup was really rough, almost died a couple times but didn't.
3. At slight throttle, it bogs. It's especially bad when going downhill and I just touch the gas.
4. My screen intermittently will not turn on. Car will run fine without it. Sometimes I can get it to turn on by unplugging and plugging it back in. Sometimes I have to shut the engine off. Sometimes it will have a white screen. No rhyme or reason to it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

1966 Mustang Coupe, 289, 4v
Tubbster1966 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Vintage Mustang Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome