ATK crate engine - Vintage Mustang Forums

3Likes

post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-15-2017, 05:35 PM Thread Starter

ATK crate engine

Hi all! Anyone to share your experience with one of these engine on a 65/66 mustang?

https://m.summitracing.com/parts/hpe...rview/make/atk

I'm planning to put one of these, with a T5 and 8" rear end. What are your thoughts? I'm looking for a driver/cruiser, not a drag car.
Thanks in advice!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-15-2017, 11:42 PM

I have no experience with this engine but the price is very reasonable. Only thing that stands out is the bore. Others on here are way more experience than I so they might give you more insight.

1969 Mustang Convertible
302, C4, P/S, P/B, A/C, FiTech EFI
post #3 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-16-2017, 01:02 AM

Garage
I've heard decent things with ATK brand engines. A google search would likely help. It really depends on what you want to do with the car, I personally would want something with much more than stock power. I had a stockish 302 in my 65 fastback before my current engine and a Volvo station wagon kept up with me. At that minute I realized I needed just a bit more power. I think something in the low 300hp range would be very acceptable. I'd maybe spend a little bit more to get more HP as the last thing you want is to spend a good chunk of change on a motor and not have it be fast enough for you and then have to do it over again or not be happy with the money you spent. Here's a link to a similarly built motor but with 270hp and over 300ft/tq.

http://www.tristarengines.com/catalo...ron-heads.html

Last edited by MUSTANG65FBK; 01-16-2017 at 01:11 AM.
post #4 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-16-2017, 08:37 AM