Holley Sniper Tips and Tricks - Vintage Mustang Forums

 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-07-2017, 09:34 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 63
Holley Sniper Tips and Tricks

I though I would start a Sniper tips and trick thread for us Sniper users and to help those thinking about going to EFI.

I'll kick this off with some key items that have been getting discussed in other threads and my own install.

I hope this thread continues with tuning tips and other things learned by folks using this system.

Joel

http://dabbles-n-doodads.com/mustang.htm <---- work I have done to my 67

Last edited by joel67; 03-07-2017 at 09:38 AM.
joel67 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-07-2017, 09:35 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 63
Powering the Sniper,

There are three wires that need to be connected to power on the Sniper,

Red and Black main power wires, these need to be run directly to the battery and have a solid connection.

Pink switched power wire, this needs to be connected to a point that is 12V in run and while cranking. It seems that what you can do here varies somewhat by year.
The best way that works for all years is to grab the wire out of the back of the ignition switch that goes to the coil. It is connected to a resistor wire with a
bullet plug. Tie into the ignition switch side of the bullet plug. DO NOT connect to the + terminal of the coil.

An alternate way is to use the "I" terminal of the starter solenoid to switch a relay. In this case, you come off the battery directly to the relay to power the Pink
switch power wire on the Sniper. There is an issue with this, with stock wiring ( resistor wire to coil ) you only get 5 - 6 volts on this terminal in the run
position and 12V while cranking. You would need to find a relay rated for 12V that is reliably energized with 5 volts. There is one reported case I know of that is
doing this and working fine. If you have rewired your car to run 12V to the coil ( non points ignition ), this method works fine.

Sniper fuel supply,

I installed a Tanks Inc EFI fuel tank with an internal pump. I set it up so that I use an external pressure regualtor ( I capped the Sniper regulator ) and return line
back at the fuel tank, so I do not have a return that runs from the Sniper to the tank. With the internal fuel pump, I do not have a pre filter but do have a 10 micron
filter berfore the Sniper. This system was originally installed for my PJIII and works well.

I have Hooker Comp headers and welded my O2 sensor bunge on the collector, did not use the strap on kit.
schweigert likes this.
joel67 is offline  
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-07-2017, 09:45 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 63
One issue I was having with my Sniper is stalling when coming to a stop. I have a 5 speed and I tend to coast to a stop in gear and press the clutch in just before stopping. What I noticed was the Sniper going real lean which would cause a stall or stumble when I did this. What I notice here is that the Sniper in not in learn mode. At first I thought it just does not learn when the TPS is at 0, but then at times I notice it learning while at idle ( TPS 0 ). My work around was to lightly press the pedal which would put it in learn mode and it did lean and richen things up. After a few passes of this I merged the learn data into the main fuel map. This do seem to be improving.

On blending the learn data, do not do this while driving. The first time I did this I was parked and idling in my driveway. when you do the merge, the engine dies.

For now, I continue to make tweaks to my starting fuel and IAC settings as well as the cold start curves.
joel67 is offline  
post #4 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-07-2017, 01:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 365
Holley finally has released Sniper EFI Software V1! Sniper EFI Software According to what is presently posted on this Holley support forum, the base Sniper EFI will not need a CAN USB adapter and will interface with a Windows PC by removing the SD card from the handheld display and use a card reader to open the configuration files. Information is still a bit sketchy at this point. Happy camper, C/O FiTech to Sniper, a few questions.
cougar70 is online now  
post #5 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-07-2017, 03:21 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 63
Just looked at the software, a good start. When I get a chance, I will look at the config that's on my SD card. The features of the software look good. Hope they do the CANBUS adapter soon. Real time monitoring and adjustment will be nice.

Joel
joel67 is offline  
post #6 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-19-2017, 08:51 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 63
So my TPS went out today. I degreased the engine compartment. Covered the Sniper with plastic so it didn't get really wet. When all done I took the car for a drive, no issue. Got home and parked it and I noticed the IAC wasn't dropping below its parked position to idle. I shut the car down and tried to restart, nothing, no fuel prime, no injectors firing. After some investigation I saw the TPS was at 89. Fiddled with it a bit, no real change. Took the TPS off my PJIII and put it on and car is back up and running. The TPS from the PJIII is not adjustable so things are slightly off ( WOT is 108% TPS ). I ordered anew one of the correct type ( Standard TH191 ) and will replace it when in. I'm hesitant to drive much because the tune is zeroing in nicely, maybe just turn auto learn off in the mean time and deal with the less than ideal running. The fuel table should be mostly MAP and RPM driven, not sure where the TPS comes in beyond idle settings and clear flood.

I've had it for about a month and other than the TPS failure, still very happy with it.

Joel
joel67 is offline  
post #7 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-20-2017, 12:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 94
Joel, where are getting the TPS from? Is this something external to the Sniper?
Mac66 is offline  
post #8 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-20-2017, 10:19 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 63
I found some on ebay that said they were standard auto TH191s no box for a silly cheap price ( normally near $40.00, these were near $9.00, hope they are genuine or at least work ). Most auto parts stores and Amazon also have them. I found the Sniper uses the TH191 in another thread, I will know Friday if it's really the correct one, physically looks like it.

It mounts to the passenger side of the TBI, has the short 3 pin connector plugged into it. Held on by two screws. It's easy to change, just annoying I have to.

Joel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac66 View Post
Joel, where are getting the TPS from? Is this something external to the Sniper?
joel67 is offline  
post #9 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-21-2017, 06:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 94
I'll say. Isn't that something Holley should cough up?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Mac66 is offline  
post #10 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-21-2017, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by joel67 View Post
So my TPS went out today. I degreased the engine compartment.
Did "degreasing" the engine cause the TPS to fail? Maybe it was just wet and would function again when thoroughly dry.
cougar70 is online now  
post #11 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-21-2017, 11:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by joel67 View Post
One issue I was having with my Sniper is stalling when coming to a stop. I have a 5 speed and I tend to coast to a stop in gear and press the clutch in just before stopping. What I noticed was the Sniper going real lean which would cause a stall or stumble when I did this. What I notice here is that the Sniper in not in learn mode. At first I thought it just does not learn when the TPS is at 0, but then at times I notice it learning while at idle ( TPS 0 ). My work around was to lightly press the pedal which would put it in learn mode and it did lean and richen things up. After a few passes of this I merged the learn data into the main fuel map. This do seem to be improving.
The Sniper has decel fuel cutoff. It's possible you're hitting that and it's dying once you unload the engine and RPMs fall like a rock. Try either upping the wait time to 1s or so, setting the RPM added param to 300-400 or more or just turning the feature off altogether.
jcoby is offline  
post #12 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-21-2017, 12:53 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 63
I will look for that and try some things there.

Thanks

Joel

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcoby View Post
The Sniper has decel fuel cutoff. It's possible you're hitting that and it's dying once you unload the engine and RPMs fall like a rock. Try either upping the wait time to 1s or so, setting the RPM added param to 300-400 or more or just turning the feature off altogether.
joel67 is offline  
post #13 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-21-2017, 12:54 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 63
That's what I thought too, but I did dry it out and still no go. Nothing I did wet wise should have made it fail.

Joel

Quote:
Originally Posted by cougar70 View Post
Did "degreasing" the engine cause the TPS to fail? Maybe it was just wet and would function again when thoroughly dry.
joel67 is offline  
post #14 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-21-2017, 12:55 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 63
Yes, but I just wanted it fixed, so just took care of it myself.

Joel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac66 View Post
I'll say. Isn't that something Holley should cough up?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
joel67 is offline  
post #15 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-21-2017, 04:53 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 63
Ugh, so today I get out of work and the O2 sensor is dead. Fortunately the tuning is good enough I was able to drive home no issue. Seems Holley might be buying the cheapest crap they can for sensors. I don't know that I want to use any replacement they would send. I think they use their own connector for the O2 sensor, I might just change the connector on the TBI end so I have more choices.

Joel
joel67 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Vintage Mustang Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome