First Patch MIG project tips? - Vintage Mustang Forums

3Likes

post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-19-2017, 12:31 AM Thread Starter

First Patch MIG project tips?

Did a little practice tonight welding behind the headlight where no can see my goofs. Used the auto setting on the Miller and had some troubles with burn through. Welds seem a bit tall - had trouble getting a good ground.

Do I finish grinding off the bumps and fill in any missed spots?

Any tips appreciated.

Rodney

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-19-2017, 01:23 AM

Send a message via MSN to Blue Blood
I'm no expert, but I'd grind and fill with additional weld. Just a minor tip, in general I'd do a little grinding in between the welds so that you're not welding on top of the higher welds. As you get more experience this will not be needed.

1995 GT Convertible - Laser Red - 331 stroker, Kenne Bell 2.2 - 415 RWHP 396 RWTQ
2002 Corvette Z06 - 410 RWHP 410 RWTQ
1968 Mustang Fastback .... Rustbucket slowly being reborn
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-19-2017, 06:42 AM

Turn up the power. Your weld is too cold. Throttle back the feed a hair, too.
gt350sr likes this.

Amateur restorer. Well, sometimes I have been paid for it. But not right now.
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-19-2017, 07:05 AM

The biggest thing with welding, besides the input already given is prep & clean surfaces properly. You really want bare "clean" metal on not only your new patch but also your piece your patching. I typically take a 90 degree die grinder with a 2" sanding disc and bring all the metal about 1-1-/2" from my patch area down to bare metal, then I take a degreaser like goof-off or lacquer thinner and wipe down the pieces.

Wiping down the pieces is probably a little anal but I have had situations where oily residue or rust proofing left in the area from grinding seeps into the weld as the metal is heated and then the weld is crappy looking.