Vintage Mustang Forums banner

67 Fastback GT Rocker Panel Stripes?

3K views 11 replies 8 participants last post by  Tallguy 
#1 ·
Hi, I am new to this site and new to owning a classic Mustang......for that matter, I am new to owing a classic period. I recently bought my first classic which is a 67 Fastback GT A-Code; Wimbledon White.

My question is, how do I know what color the Rocker Panel Stripes should be?

The car is Wimbledon White but currently doesn't have any rocker panel stripes and the interior color is black. I've been trying to figure out how the stripe color correlates with the color of the car or color of the interior but I'm not sure....

BTW, I have a Marti Report and it doesn't mention the rocker panel stripes color, but it does identify the car as a true GT.

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks!

#5 ·
Yes, the GT stripe was applied to GT models at the factory, it was part of the PIO (Performance Image OPtion, AKA "GT").

Your white/black car would have a black stripe. If it had a blue interior, blue stripe, red interior, red stripe, etc.

#8 ·
Question, my 67 factory GT, is orig aqua paint, 2 tone aqua interior. Car picture in my signature. Was off the road since early 80's when I got it, (since total restore). It came with rusty fenders that had white stripes and same fade aqua paint. Still have one of them.
Possible there was a 2nd stripe color choice? Or a none traditional paint color had different stripe color choice?

#7 ·
Have a look at a factory sales brochure from 1967. There's a great centerfold spread of a white 67 GT fastback a couple of pages into it. To go forward in the brochure, click the little blue > arrow up near the top. You'll like it.
Here's the link67 Mustang Brochure

#9 · (Edited)
If you were the original owner at the dealer, back in those days they'd order up any combo, weird or not, that you'd ask for if it would help them close the deal. Stripes would be not really an issue.