Cleaning up my under-hood wiring..is this do-able? - Vintage Mustang Forums
Vintage Mustang Forum
HomeForumGalleryClassifiedsAbout UsAdvertiseContact Us
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Go Back   Vintage Mustang Forums > General Discussion > Vintage Mustang Forum
Vintage-Mustang.com is the premier Ford Mustang Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2005, 03:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ohio...between Toledo and Cleveland
Posts: 2,030
Send a message via AIM to 65fstbk
Default

While re-installing my under hood main harness (65 fastback), I stepped back at looked at it, and no matter what,it looks "messy"..it is wrapped nice,and all the clips holding it in place, but the way it was run from the factory just isnt "astectically correct"..instead of it running from the main plug, under the master cylinder and (left) hood hinge..around the shock tower to the front radiator support to the voltage regulator, what (if anything) would be "wrong" with using a "knock-out punch" (Im an electrician.. its a tool used to put a hole in an electrical panel for conduit fittings) to punch a hole under the hinge, and run the wire out that hole (using a rubber gromet) then under the top of the inner fender aprons (around the outer shock tower)and bring it back into the engine bay through the hole that is for the headlights.."hanging" it from the original holes and clips,just pushed in from the back side..I believe the stock harness will still be long enough, so no splicing would be needed, and the only draws back I see, might be the fact that there is an extra hole(maybe 7/8 inch)in the rear fender apron, but if someone in the future wanted to close that hole up, it could be welded, or a rubber plug put in..and I would have to figure a way around or through the headlight mounting bracket that is welded to the inner fender....other than being exposed to a bit more "road grime" would there be any other problems with this idea?
I am thinking about the same thing on the other side with the harness that comes out for the ignition and heater..run it instead under the dash to the (right) side cowl panel(where the antenna wire goes through)and around the outer shock tower to the front, and poke the wires in right below the solenoid, but I havent thought that all out yet,I know those wires would have to be spliced...That side will be another post..:joker:

Joe
__________________

http://i132.photobucket.com/albums/q...-resized-1.jpg http://i132.photobucket.com/albums/q...de-resized.jpg
.
.
The fastback is still quite a project..so...I now have the '51 "shoebox" to drive until the mustang is done...its next!

http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/362544/1
http://s132.photobucket.com/albums/q30/51custom/?start=0
65fstbk is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-08-2005, 03:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
gt350clone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: KANSAS!
Posts: 5,200
Default

Not only "possible", but pretty easy really...



On the passenger side (as you suspected), I did need to lengthen the two solenoid wires. No big deal. I also relocated the solenoid down out of the way...

__________________
http://www.sunflower.com/~luckybug/images/banner.jpg
Ye old 65 Clone - www.gt350clone.com (Car & Tech Pages)
The young stud - www.MySaleen.com
gt350clone is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-08-2005, 03:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 155
Default

I don't see why this wouldn't work. I hate wires....there is not easy way to make them look neat.
__________________
1966 Mustang, 289 C.I., bored .030, petronix ignition, heddman headers, hyperutectic pisotns, edelbrock performer cam, edelbrock performer rpm intake, edelbrock (1406) 600 carb, hughs 2500 rpm stall, c4 trans, B&M stage II shift kit, 3.55 richmond gears, flex lite trannie cooler...
http://www.cardomain.com/id/brandons1966
http://memimage.cardomain.net/member.../700575_14.jpg
Brandon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-08-2005, 04:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ohio...between Toledo and Cleveland
Posts: 2,030
Send a message via AIM to 65fstbk
Default

Real nice Bob..thnx..a couple questions though..what did you do to get past the bracket that the headlight buckets bolt to (the ones welded to the inner fender)? My brackets were pretty much rusted away, so I have some from a doner to weld back in.I havent done that yet, so there is no bracket in the way right now, but when I go to weld, it in, I am wondering how to go around it..and I cant see in your pic, but did you bring the harness out under the spring like I mentioned?...I suppose another alternative would to be eliminate the plug in the firewall all-together and run that harness out the side of the firewall by the fuse box..which did you do?do you think there would be any advantage of one way over another?...thnx
__________________

http://i132.photobucket.com/albums/q...-resized-1.jpg http://i132.photobucket.com/albums/q...de-resized.jpg
.
.
The fastback is still quite a project..so...I now have the '51 "shoebox" to drive until the mustang is done...its next!

http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/362544/1
http://s132.photobucket.com/albums/q30/51custom/?start=0
65fstbk is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-08-2005, 05:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
JerseysBest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Morristown, NJ
Posts: 1,426
Default

Dammit, I wish I thought of that when I wired everything up front. I really hate how the wires wrap around the shock tower.
JerseysBest is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-08-2005, 06:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Layne_Utah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Utah
Posts: 952
Default

I did it. Ran some seal tight over the spring cover and tapped it into the frame rail. Pulled the bundle through the frame rail.

Hell I even made a custom electrical box where the battery was. ALL wires land into DIN rail terminals then go where they are intended. You can get fused terminals. I used double pole IDEC relays to run anything over 2 amps. If I need to trouble shoot anything I go to one place with a volt meter.
Layne_Utah is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-08-2005, 06:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
johnpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Roseville, California
Posts: 25,242
Default

I was contemplating doing the same thing to my '69.

I did do a variation on this on my '66. I custom made the harness that goes to the starter selonoid and to all the sending units. Then they all run in one conduit, down the driver's side. When it was all said and done, I'd wished I'd gone in through the wheel well like you talked about. I even fished the wires to the engine through the frame rail, and they all come out of the frame rail right by the oil filter.

Eventually I ran some other stuff (aftermarket gauges) and could no longer get everything into a single conduit and had to run a second one ... kind of detracted some from the more clean look of a single conduit of wires.

I couldn't figure out what to do, though, with the 2 wires to the heater motor, so I had to make those run against the fire wall still

__________________
VMF Jedi Knight who's spirit will be with us forever.
johnpro is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-08-2005, 08:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
JamesW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 1,266
Default

Did the same here:


Here's the link to the webpage on it.
__________________
http://www.midnightdsigns.com/Mustan...dar/CAL03a.jpg
JamesW Website
JamesW Garage Sale

If you're reading this...thank a Teacher.
If you're reading this in English...thank a Soldier.
My other Mustang is a real GT.....
JamesW is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-08-2005, 08:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: simpsonville,Ky,(east of Louisville)
Posts: 1,041
Default

A Greenlee 3/4 K.O. punch should do the trick,,,,hint!! Hint!!,,LOL. Been there ,,,got the shirt,,,,LOL.
__________________
Professionally restoring 65-73 Mustangs,,Full-size Fords,,,AND 67-81 General Motors Firebird,,,Trans-Am.Located in Simpsonville Ky.,Shelby County.25 years experience,,,,,with emphasis on building beautiful and unusual musclecars,,to include full-size too.Advice and questions are always welcome. (502) 338-1218 Thanks.
69smach is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-08-2005, 08:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ohio...between Toledo and Cleveland
Posts: 2,030
Send a message via AIM to 65fstbk
Default

Wow..thnx for all the replys..I guess its not only "do-able", but seems as common as the shelby drop :rolleyes:..and i like a couple of the suggestions about the relays..sure would make any electrical problems easy to trouble shot...thnx everyone

Joe
__________________

http://i132.photobucket.com/albums/q...-resized-1.jpg http://i132.photobucket.com/albums/q...de-resized.jpg
.
.
The fastback is still quite a project..so...I now have the '51 "shoebox" to drive until the mustang is done...its next!

http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/362544/1
http://s132.photobucket.com/albums/q30/51custom/?start=0
65fstbk is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-08-2005, 08:32 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ohio...between Toledo and Cleveland
Posts: 2,030
Send a message via AIM to 65fstbk
Default

Pretty good guess on my part Eh Jeff(69smach)..that why in my original post I was guessing 7/8 inch hole...a 3/4 inch K.O makes a 7/8 in hole..(outside dai. of rigid conduit measures 7/8")..thnx

Joe
__________________

http://i132.photobucket.com/albums/q...-resized-1.jpg http://i132.photobucket.com/albums/q...de-resized.jpg
.
.
The fastback is still quite a project..so...I now have the '51 "shoebox" to drive until the mustang is done...its next!

http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/362544/1
http://s132.photobucket.com/albums/q30/51custom/?start=0
65fstbk is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-08-2005, 11:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
gt350clone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: KANSAS!
Posts: 5,200
Default

Quote:
Real nice Bob..thnx..a couple questions though..what did you do to get past the bracket that the headlight buckets bolt to (the ones welded to the inner fender)? My brackets were pretty much rusted away, so I have some from a doner to weld back in.I havent done that yet, so there is no bracket in the way right now, but when I go to weld, it in, I am wondering how to go around it..and I cant see in your pic, but did you bring the harness out under the spring like I mentioned?...I suppose another alternative would to be eliminate the plug in the firewall all-together and run that harness out the side of the firewall by the fuse box..which did you do?do you think there would be any advantage of one way over another?...thnx
I just did some minor trimming on the bracket to create enough clearance to snake the wiring by. Yes, my harness exits right under the hood hinge. If the car is disassembled, you COULD just move the whole plug out into the fenderwell area. Would be "cleaner"...

Oh yeah, move the horns to the INSIDE of the radiator support - plenty if wiring to do that, and it just cleans up the area in front of the radiator a little more...
__________________
http://www.sunflower.com/~luckybug/images/banner.jpg
Ye old 65 Clone - www.gt350clone.com (Car & Tech Pages)
The young stud - www.MySaleen.com
gt350clone is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Vintage Mustang Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2 ©2009, Crawlability, Inc.