Halogen headlights w/o wiring upgrade....trouble? - Vintage Mustang Forums
Vintage Mustang Forum
HomeForumGalleryClassifiedsAbout UsAdvertiseContact Us
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Go Back   Vintage Mustang Forums > General Discussion > Vintage Mustang Forum
Vintage-Mustang.com is the premier Ford Mustang Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 12-29-2005, 09:20 PM   #1 (permalink)

I'm a noob to this forum and vintage mustangs in general, but I recently purchased a 1965 289/C4 fastback. The only problem I'm experiencing is that the headlights don't turn on.

I noticed halogen lights were installed, but everything else in the car was completely stock. I read somewhere that the increased load from halogen bulbs means that a lower gage wire should be used and a relay switch installed. Could this be the reason I get no power to the headlights.

Background... I replaced the bulbs with the standard issue...nothing. The rear lights work just fine but my voltometer readings where the headlights plug into are nothing. (FYI I'm not too experienced with a voltometer so I could have screwed that up) There are no clear frays in the wiring from the lights switch to the headlights. Nothing out of the ordinary on the dimmer switch either.

Is my wiring at fault? Are light switches unreliable? Any help is greatly appreciated.
theusualsuspect is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-29-2005, 09:26 PM   #2 (permalink)

Probably a bad headlight switch. I have put halogens in my car and haven't had any problems. Some have theorized that the extra amps could cause the circuit breaker to trip. As I recall, it is built into the headlight switch...so replacing it would also replace the circuit breaker. I haven't had to mess with mine so I'm not 100% certain I'm right.

Adding the relay is a good idea though, and I plan to do it soon. Here's a reference link I bookmarked for this topic: