converting from auto to manual choke - Vintage Mustang Forums
Vintage Mustang Forum
HomeForumGalleryClassifiedsAbout UsAdvertiseContact Us
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Go Back   Vintage Mustang Forums > General Discussion > Vintage Mustang Forum
Vintage-Mustang.com is the premier Ford Mustang Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-06-2006, 11:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 108
Default

Has anyone converted from an automatic choke to a manual choke? I have a 289 2brl...if so any tips on the best way to do this?? Thanks, Joe[color:gray][/color]
jsalomone is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-06-2006, 11:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
johnpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Roseville, California
Posts: 25,242
Default

I've done the opposite ... convert from manual to electric (Edelbrock 1405).

You'll need the choke cable to go from the choke butterfly to inside the car, then will probably need to fabricate a linkage from the butterfly to the throttle blades (choke needs to both close the choke butterfly and open slightly the throttle butterfly), unless there is kit already available for whatever carb you're working on. Be sure to cap off any unused vaccum ports.
__________________
VMF Jedi Knight who's spirit will be with us forever.
johnpro is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2006, 11:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The DarkSide
Posts: 7,264
Default

WHY? I'd just convert it to electric choke from a 75 351W 2bbl Torino, $40 at autozone, 5 minute swap. Heck even if you wanted to go manual, unless one of the universal kits fits, I doubt you could find a manual choke setup.
HTH
--Kyle
__________________
The squirrels in my head have spoken.
Cobra 5.0L & AOD swap, here we come.
gotstang is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2006, 12:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Meyer65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mill Valley, CA
Posts: 4,585
Default

Ya, I can;t say I understand why you would want to do that. Are you having trouble with your choke right now? Is it mechanical or electric? Having using all three, I can tell you electric is by far the best way to go.
__________________

http://media4.dropshots.com/photos/1...208/172627.jpghttp://media3.dropshots.com/photos/1...115/174933.jpg
--"Racing is life... everything before and after is just waiting." Steve McQueen as Michael Delaney in 'Le Mans'--
--------------------------------------"The harder you work, the luckier you get."-Gary Player--------------------------------------
Website
Meyer65 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2006, 11:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 436
Default

I gotta chime in on this one... I tried using a manual choke on two occasions and both times the cable would bind and become difficult to operate. The best solution in my opinion is an electric choke. Now, perhaps if someone could develop a servo and a toggle switch to open and close the butterfly...
flicktra is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2006, 11:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 108
Default

The reason for my need to change is that the original manifold connection for the automatic choke is plugged and I do not have any of the choke tubes. I thought maybe just going manual would be easier. Sounds like an electric choke is an option, however I know little about how they work? Is this a easy swap? If it is I am willing to give this a shot vis messing with the manual or figuring out the automatic fix.
jsalomone is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2006, 12:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The DarkSide
Posts: 7,264
Default

Installing an electric choke is super easy, unbolt the stock one and bolt on the electric element. Then, using a wire with a spade tip on the carb end and an eyelet connector on the other, connect it to the S terminal of the alternator. Volia! You're done! You may need to adjust the choke, but that's easy as well.

Hot air chokes, as were stock on 2100s use hot air off the exhaust manifolds to operate a bimetallic spring bolted to the choke that moves it as the engine warms. Electric does the same electrically, and manual chokes just move the choke plate by the cable.
HTH
--Kyle
__________________
The squirrels in my head have spoken.
Cobra 5.0L & AOD swap, here we come.
gotstang is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2006, 12:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 322
Default


My carb was already a manual setup, so I can't help you there. But,
I bought a choke cable at Autozone and it sucked. The line would flex to much and made it hard to use.
The best cable is a throttle cable for a push mower. Works great for me. I have it mounted at the under side of the dash.
Dremel is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2006, 12:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 108
Default

Kyle, thanks for the discription. One last question, which terminal is the S terminal on the altenator?

This sounds like an easy solution thanks, Joe
jsalomone is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2006, 12:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The DarkSide
Posts: 7,264
Default

It will have a big S stamped into the case of the alt right above the terminal. I think it's the one that has the wire with the white cover attached but I wouldn't swear to it.
HTH
--Kyle
__________________
The squirrels in my head have spoken.
Cobra 5.0L & AOD swap, here we come.
gotstang is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2006, 12:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 108
Default

Thanks, I'll give this a try if it warms up enough this week end!! Maybe we'll hit 30 degrees.
jsalomone is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2006, 06:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
dixierunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stone Mountain, Ga
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to dixierunner
Default

yeah the S is the stator wire. i THINK it is the white one as well.
__________________
1965 Mustang Coupe 'C' code
289ci bored .040 over
3-speed Manual
Edelbrock Performer Plus Cam
Edelbrock Performer Plus Intake Manifold
Holley Street Avenger 550cfm
dixierunner is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2006, 08:47 PM   #13 (permalink)
Supporting Member
Senior Member
 
Midlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 18,964
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dixierunner
yeah the S is the stator wire. i THINK it is the white one as well.
White is the F (Field) wire. Stator wire is either white/black stripe. In 1966, there is no Stator wire on the alternator harness, as that line is not used.
__________________
http://midlife66.com/miscfiles/traylersmiley2.gifhttp://midlife66.com/miscfiles/hotshots.jpg
http://midlife66.com/miscfiles/hotshots.jpg[

'Electrical Guru: Let me Check Your Shorts! Ooops...that didn't turn out right.

MCA Historian
Midlife is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Vintage Mustang Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2 ©2009, Crawlability, Inc.