"I" and "S" terminals on Solenoid - Vintage Mustang Forums
Vintage Mustang Forum
HomeForumGalleryClassifiedsAbout UsAdvertiseContact Us
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Go Back   Vintage Mustang Forums > General Discussion > Vintage Mustang Forum
Vintage-Mustang.com is the premier Ford Mustang Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2009, 09:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Tims65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,324
Default "I" and "S" terminals on Solenoid

What exactly are the "I" and the "S" terminals on the solenoid for?

__________________
'65 2+2
347 - Holley DP - 471 fwhp
JBA shorty's, 2.5" tubes, Dr Gas X-pipe
T-5 world class 5 speed, w/ .80 OD
9" with 3.70's & T-loc
4 wheel Wilwood disc brakes
17" CL-205's, 225/45 & 255/40
TCP/Global West suspension
OpenTracker roller spring perches
subframe connectors, Panhard bar
TCP manual rack & pinion
Power door/window locks w/ keyless entry
Driven, not pampered
Tims65 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-21-2009, 10:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Mil1ion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 663
Send a message via Yahoo to Mil1ion
Default "I" and "S" terminals on Solenoid

When you turn the key to start... power runs from the ign switch thru the NSS to the S terminal of the solenoid causing a high amperage of power to travel from the battery to the starter lug of the relay to the starter to crank the engine ....at the same time while the the key is in Start, power (12 Volts) from the I terminal runs to the coil for easier starting.
Once the key return to RUN ..7-9 volts is delivered to the coil operating the ign system

Mil1ion is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2009, 12:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
gothand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Fulton, GA
Posts: 259
Default

That's pretty much the way it works. To add to the description of the 'I' terminal, it supplies the full voltage to the coil which is otherwise reduced by the pink resistor wire.

I always assumed 'S' indicated starter and 'I' indicated ignition.
gothand is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2009, 03:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
sycostang67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,458
Default

Those terminals have always puzzled me. When I got my car, the solenoid only had one of those terminals and there was no extra wire I could find to indicate I should have had both terminals. When I replaced the solenoid, the new one had both. When I replaced the wiring harness, it had a wire for each terminal. I hooked them both up, but I'm not really sure if it did anything.
__________________
1967 Mustang Coupe 351W/4spd
1993 F-250HD SC 4X4 7.3TD/5spd
2012 Jeep Wrangler Sahara 3.6/5spd-auto
1979 Mercury Capri 302/5spd-Sold(found and being restored), Ran 12.47 @ 110mph
http://forums.vintage-mustang.com/si...ypCSLHv_kx.jpg
sycostang67 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2009, 06:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Muncie, Indiana
Posts: 3,824
Default

I'm pretty sure Ford quit using the I teminal when they went to electronic ignition. All points ignition cars should use the I terminal.

Joe
__________________
'67 Fastback 351c, T-5, 3.70 Trac-lok
'69 Mach 1 project
'71 Boss 351
joe69 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2009, 02:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Mil1ion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 663
Send a message via Yahoo to Mil1ion
Default

The difference was the vehicle and the main harness
whether the Ignition by pass wires was used.
Mopar used a Ballast resistor(white porcelin Block with resistor built into it) for years.





in the 80's they changed back to this design.

Mil1ion is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2009, 08:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Tims65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,324
Default

So... if I am running an MSD electronic distributer and an MSD 6AL box, do I need to connect the "I" terminal?

Tim
__________________
'65 2+2
347 - Holley DP - 471 fwhp
JBA shorty's, 2.5" tubes, Dr Gas X-pipe
T-5 world class 5 speed, w/ .80 OD
9" with 3.70's & T-loc
4 wheel Wilwood disc brakes
17" CL-205's, 225/45 & 255/40
TCP/Global West suspension
OpenTracker roller spring perches
subframe connectors, Panhard bar
TCP manual rack & pinion
Power door/window locks w/ keyless entry
Driven, not pampered
Tims65 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2009, 08:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
brianstrange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Tyngsboro, Ma
Posts: 1,622
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tims65
So... if I am running an MSD electronic distributer and an MSD 6AL box, do I need to connect the "I" terminal?

Tim
My only question is: was the resistance wire (original ford coil power wire) used to power the new ign system? if so, it not getting proper voltage. If not, the I terminal is most likely going to a dead end wire
__________________
Semi Pro Touring 67 Mustang Convertible * Mild 5.0 EFI * AOD * 68 8" rear end * Aeroform R&P * Open tracker roller perches * Arning Drop * 560 LB 1" lowering front springs * 1.25 front sway bar * Koni front, Grab a track rear shocks * 15x7 Shelby 10 spoke 4.25" BS and 225-60-15 http://www.facebook.com/album.php?ai...6&l=9f637753c1
brianstrange is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2009, 09:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ohio
Posts: 503
Default

Tim, the answer to your question is no it doesn't need to be hooked up. Brian brings up a good question though. How did you hook up your box? If you used the power lead for the old coil hook-up, you are running low voltage to the msd box. If you unplug the pink wire under the dash and plug a new wire into the lead that the pink was plugged into, run that new wire to the msd box.
__________________
5.0 H.O. roller block,cast iron GT-40 heads, e303 cam, 1.7 roller rockers,RPM intake,600 holley dbl. pump,
duraspark ign.,FPA headers,and t-5 trans.
Paul
6t6red is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-15-2009, 09:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Tims65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,324
Default

Sorry guys, I'm still a little confused.

I'm currently rewiring my engine compartment and trying to hide all of the wires. I'm trying to decide if I should relocate the solenoid or if I can eliminate it. I have one of the new high torque mini starters, but it does not have a provision for the "I" terminal. I do have an electronic MSD distributer and MSD-6AL box (I have not wired them yet).

Please provide me with your knowledge!!

Tim
__________________
'65 2+2
347 - Holley DP - 471 fwhp
JBA shorty's, 2.5" tubes, Dr Gas X-pipe
T-5 world class 5 speed, w/ .80 OD
9" with 3.70's & T-loc
4 wheel Wilwood disc brakes
17" CL-205's, 225/45 & 255/40
TCP/Global West suspension
OpenTracker roller spring perches
subframe connectors, Panhard bar
TCP manual rack & pinion
Power door/window locks w/ keyless entry
Driven, not pampered
Tims65 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-15-2009, 06:40 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Mil1ion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 663
Send a message via Yahoo to Mil1ion
Default

Does the MSD box run on 12 volts ?

The I terminal was just used to send 12 volts to the coil during starter cranking.

If the MSD box runs on 12 volts and you have a 12 volt source to the coil when you crank the starter and RUN ,then NO ,you don't need the I terminal or bypass circuit
Mil1ion is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-15-2009, 09:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Tims65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,324
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mil1ion
Does the MSD box run on 12 volts ?

The I terminal was just used to send 12 volts to the coil during starter cranking.

If the MSD box runs on 12 volts and you have a 12 volt source to the coil when you crank the starter and RUN ,then NO ,you don't need the I terminal or bypass circuit
Yes, the MSD-6AL box uses a 12 volt constant hot and a 12 volt switched hot.

So is the lead that connects to the "I" terminal a 12 volt switched (ignition hot) power source?

Tim
__________________
'65 2+2
347 - Holley DP - 471 fwhp
JBA shorty's, 2.5" tubes, Dr Gas X-pipe
T-5 world class 5 speed, w/ .80 OD
9" with 3.70's & T-loc
4 wheel Wilwood disc brakes
17" CL-205's, 225/45 & 255/40
TCP/Global West suspension
OpenTracker roller spring perches
subframe connectors, Panhard bar
TCP manual rack & pinion
Power door/window locks w/ keyless entry
Driven, not pampered
Tims65 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-20-2010, 01:14 AM   #13 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 54
Default Pertronix Flamethrower Coil and "I" terminal

Some great info on this thread. Been wondering what the I terminal was for for awhile now. Now, time for my question:

I'm installing a Pertronix Flamethrower Coil (built-in 1.5 Ohm resistance) on my 302. I have removed the resistance wire, and am wondering if I should remove the connection at the I terminal as well. Since the resistane is now internal to the coil, the 12 volts that comes from the I terminal will now be stepped-down. Thus, don't see any reason to include.

Any thoughts?
naviator2003 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-20-2010, 01:47 AM   #14 (permalink)
Joe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Imperial Beach, CA
Posts: 1,039
Default

Not to add any confusion, but all coils have resistance in the primary windings. Stock coils are 1.4 ohms. The 1.5 ohms of the Flamethrower coil, for all practical purposes, doesn't change anything. (Being that it's only a 0.1 ohm difference.)

That being said, if you have bypassed the resister wire, the wire to the "I" terminal no longer serves a purpose, as there is no longer a resistance wire to bypass during starting. Whether you leave the wire there or not is personal preference - it doesn't do anything anymore, but it won't hurt anything, either.

I would not remove the resister wire if you are using points, or they won't last very long. At all.
__________________
'65 Coupe, 302, Autolite 4100, C4, 2.80
'72 Grande, 351C, Motorcraft 2100, FMX, 2.75

Last edited by Joe; 06-20-2010 at 01:53 AM. Reason: more
Joe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-20-2010, 02:20 AM   #15 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe View Post
Not to add any confusion, but all coils have resistance in the primary windings. Stock coils are 1.4 ohms. The 1.5 ohms of the Flamethrower coil, for all practical purposes, doesn't change anything. (Being that it's only a 0.1 ohm difference.)

That being said, if you have bypassed the resister wire, the wire to the "I" terminal no longer serves a purpose, as there is no longer a resistance wire to bypass during starting. Whether you leave the wire there or not is personal preference - it doesn't do anything anymore, but it won't hurt anything, either.

I would not remove the resister wire if you are using points, or they won't last very long. At all.
Gotcha, thanks for the reply. I'll go ahead and keep it. I'm actually using the Pertronix Ignitor, so I've done away with points.
naviator2003 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Vintage Mustang Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2 ©2009, Crawlability, Inc.