Vintage Mustang Forum
HomeForumGalleryClassifiedsAbout UsAdvertiseContact Us
» Featured Product
» Sponsors
» Network Links
»Super Springs
Go Back   Vintage Mustang Forums > General Discussion > Vintage Mustang Forum
Vintage-Mustang.com is the premier vintage Ford Mustang forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.Please Register - It's Free!
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2009, 03:55 PM   #31 (permalink)
Supporting Member
┌∩┐(-_-)┌∩┐
 
dodgestang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Omnipresent
Posts: 12,879
Default

I once found a guy hotlinking images from my website into his internet posts and myspace pages and claiming ownership of my car.

Since he hotlinked it was REALLY easy to screw with him by replacing the images with something else with the same name

Too bad they didn't hotlink your image from flicker
__________________
Nick
65FB 408C AOD D.T._____Let's Go Racing


11.455 at 118.85!
dodgestang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Old 12-27-2009, 04:10 PM   #32 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SW FL
Posts: 1,365
Send a message via AIM to 68stang289
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgestang View Post
I once found a guy hotlinking images from my website into his internet posts and myspace pages and claiming ownership of my car.

Since he hotlinked it was REALLY easy to screw with him by replacing the images with something else with the same name

Too bad they didn't hotlink your image from flicker
Hahahahaha, that is awesome!
__________________
70 Mach I, 428 SCJ, 4 spd, 3.50:1, nicely built
06 GT Premium, 5 spd, iup, 18" polished aluminum bullitt rims - For Sale (PM me for info)
Pics Finally!
68stang289 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 04:11 PM   #33 (permalink)
Supporting Member
Senior Member
 
sigtauenus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 2,811
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgestang View Post
I once found a guy hotlinking images from my website into his internet posts and myspace pages and claiming ownership of my car.

Since he hotlinked it was REALLY easy to screw with him by replacing the images with something else with the same name

Too bad they didn't hotlink your image from flicker
Yeah, that is a favorite tactic of mine too. Particularly when the new image is of male anatomy.
__________________
68 J-code Fastback - owned since Jan 1994
68 C-Code Coupe
78 F-150 4x4


Got a question about fold down seats or need some fold down seat parts? Check out the new http://www.folddownseat.com
sigtauenus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 05:14 PM   #34 (permalink)
Supporting Member
Button Pusher
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Grayson, GA (Atlanta)
Posts: 2,898
Default

And...I'm curious...what was the response from Hemmings?

Dave
__________________

68 GT Vert - J Code (1st car I ever drove in '73, dad bought it in '71)
67 C Code Vert Sports Sprint (1st car I ever bought in '75)
06 Vista Blue with Pony Package (1st Mustang I ever bought new)
MCA #49294 Grayson, GA (Atlanta)
daves67ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 05:17 PM   #35 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
supershifter2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SO CAL
Posts: 1,377
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sigtauenus View Post
Yeah, that is a favorite tactic of mine too. Particularly when the new image is of male anatomy.
male anatomy !! i told her not to put that foto of me on the web !
supershifter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 05:19 PM   #36 (permalink)
Member
 
Teambenya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 92
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supershifter2 View Post
i have seen at least one and might have seen more then one 65-66 (i didnt really pay attention to year) pink (looked like that pink) convertable mustang(s) out here in los angeles. when i lived in hollywood a number of years ago i saw at least one on a regular basis. i dont remember the wheels or hubcaps.
My particular car is painted a 1967 color, not the color pink that would have been correct on a 65/66 car. It's the same as advertising a highland blue mustang with a photo of a car painted guardsman blue. It's an inaccurate description. It's certainly possible to have another 65 painted that color, but if this guy is actually selling a playmate pink 65, then the car he is selling should be a different color than mine. If it's the same color as mine, then it's been mispainted with a 1967 color, just as mine has been.
Teambenya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 05:23 PM   #37 (permalink)
Member
 
Teambenya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 92
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daves67ss View Post
And...I'm curious...what was the response from Hemmings?

Dave
I'll be contacting them tomorrow as well, I'll let you know what their response is as well.
Teambenya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 08:22 PM   #38 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daves67ss View Post
And...I'm curious...what was the response from Hemmings?

Dave
None. But then, it's the weekend.
22GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 10:06 AM   #39 (permalink)
Member
 
Teambenya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 92
Default

I called Hemmings, they said they were going to contact the seller and remove the listing, I also called the seller directly, and he claimed the car in the photo was the one for sale, the photo was taken by the guy he bought the car from, and they were rebuilding the carb, cleaning up the chrome and would have it ready in about a week.

I told him it was my car in the photo, and he then said it was just a "stock photo" and the real photos would be up in a week and he would be taking the photo of my car down then.

I'm not sure if it's really worth escalating at this point, but he's really got my blood boiling right now.
Teambenya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 10:49 AM   #40 (permalink)
Supporting Member
Senior Member
 
sigtauenus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 2,811
Default

On the bright side, do you think your car is worth more or less than $21,500? If less, and this sells, it would be a good ad to pass to the appraiser next time, particularly since it is your car and all.
__________________
68 J-code Fastback - owned since Jan 1994
68 C-Code Coupe
78 F-150 4x4


Got a question about fold down seats or need some fold down seat parts? Check out the new http://www.folddownseat.com
sigtauenus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 11:00 AM   #41 (permalink)
Member
 
Teambenya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 92
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sigtauenus View Post
On the bright side, do you think your car is worth more or less than $21,500? If less, and this sells, it would be a good ad to pass to the appraiser next time, particularly since it is your car and all.
Mine is definately worth less at the moment, especially since I'm in the process of restoring the car. Once it's finished, I'm confident mine could pull a better price than that, though.

As a side note, the seller just removed the photos of my car and replaced them with photos of another vehicle! Thank god!
Teambenya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 11:03 AM   #42 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teambenya View Post
I called Hemmings, they said they were going to contact the seller and remove the listing, I also called the seller directly, and he claimed the car in the photo was the one for sale, the photo was taken by the guy he bought the car from, and they were rebuilding the carb, cleaning up the chrome and would have it ready in about a week.

I told him it was my car in the photo, and he then said it was just a "stock photo" and the real photos would be up in a week and he would be taking the photo of my car down then.

I'm not sure if it's really worth escalating at this point, but he's really got my blood boiling right now.
So I was right, the seller is a weasel. Good dealer- to avoid.
22GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 11:09 AM   #43 (permalink)
Member
 
Teambenya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 92
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 22GT View Post
So I was right, the seller is a weasel. Good dealer- to avoid.
Well, I wouldn't send my business there after this fiasco, that's for sure. I will say that the car he's got posted now looks awfully familiar... Check out the incorrect side mirror in the new pictures, and then compare it to this:

A few other pink 1965 Mustangs Surface « The Pink Mustang Blog

I think that car was listed for $15,000 on ebay back in November, the car was from North Carolina at the time. Very small world that we live in....
Teambenya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 11:18 AM   #44 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,137
Default

I just got a nice note from Hemmings, to the effect they are looking into it.
22GT is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.1.0

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.1 ©2009, Crawlability, Inc.