What kind of oil do you use, synthetic or regular? - Vintage Mustang Forums
Vintage Mustang Forum
HomeForumGalleryClassifiedsAbout UsAdvertiseContact Us
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Go Back   Vintage Mustang Forums > General Discussion > Vintage Mustang Forum
Vintage-Mustang.com is the premier Ford Mustang Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 08-13-2011, 10:16 PM   #1 (permalink)

Location: Scottsdale, Arizona (Nothing like trying to keep a vintage Mustang cool in 115 degree heat.)
Default What kind of oil do you use, synthetic or regular?

Hi all,

What kind of oil do you run in your Mustangs, synthetic or regular? I'm planning to do an oil change tomorrow, and just picked up some Mobil 1 synthetic, but I've never used it before. I've heard people are thrilled with it, so I figured I'd give it a try. It can't be worse than regular, especially in a hot friggin' desert... I assume.

Anyone have any experience with synthetic, or are you die-hard regular?

Thanks!
1968 Mustang coupe, bought in August '11 (second '68 I've had), .302, Candy apple red, standard black interior, A/C, built in San Jose, California, first registered in October '68. She's mostly original, but has been restored somewhat over the years. Minor tweaks forthcoming.
68Coupe302 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-13-2011, 10:27 PM   #2 (permalink)

I use regular. That's all it needs. I get Castrol or Quakerstate. Usually get the deals from Walmart. If regular oil works like it should, why change??
Edelbrock RPM Performer Heads; bored .30 over
Weiand Stealth Intake, Holley 600 CFM Carb.
Comp Cam 268H 9.5:1 Speed Pro Pistons
Patriot Tri-Y Headers w/ 2.5" H Pipe, Flowmaster 40S
Ride tech air ride with 4 link
Global West Tubular Arms and Adjustable Struts
CSRP Front Disk Brakes.
Ford 8 3.40 trac-loc rear end

GO RAIDERS!
sdmustangrider is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message