Carb backfire and engine won't start - Vintage Mustang Forums
Vintage Mustang Forum
HomeForumGalleryClassifiedsAbout UsAdvertiseContact Us
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Go Back   Vintage Mustang Forums > General Discussion > Vintage Mustang Forum
Vintage-Mustang.com is the premier Ford Mustang Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 08-27-2011, 10:07 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Carb backfire and engine won't start

I have had the 289 out of my 66 and am not trying to start it for the first time. I have verified all the wiring correct, timing appears correct (TDC on cylinder 1), and car sounds like it would start. Problem I am seeing is that the with the air filter off (hood still off the car) the carb is backfiring on me. I have only seen it flame 2 times, but it will belch gas out the top. I am running an edelbrock performer intake with an edelbrock 1406 performer 4bbl.

Any thoughts on what I can do to get this to start? I am new to this so any advice would help out.
denker0508 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-27-2011, 10:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Supporting Member

Sounds like timing or firing order might be a good place to start.

Stand by: people who actually know something will be along shortly...
RichA is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-27-2011, 11:14 AM   #3 (permalink)

Even though it's not running, you can still use your timing light to set timing, 6-12*BTDC. If your marks won't line up in the right place you know something is wrong. Plus it will verify you have spark. Backfire thru carb is normally a timing issue.
Old 08-27-2011, 11:24 AM   #4 (permalink)

why was it pull out? what was done to it while it was out?
slingblade is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-27-2011, 11:41 AM   #5 (permalink)

Send a message via AIM to My427stang

Sounds like you are 180 degrees out with the distributor.