Autolite 1100 headache - Vintage Mustang Forums

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-07-2012, 03:39 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
MustangJon83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 20
Autolite 1100 headache

I have a 1968 200CID inline 6 with an Autolite 1100. Just started restoring it. I just installed a carb rebuild kit on it. Then put the carb back on, started the car, it started right up after the fuel hit the carb. I watched as it warmed up, the choke-plate started to open.... Then it died! If the car is cold and the choke is closed, it runs fine, but as it warms and the choke plate opens, it dies instantly. Is there any general starting point I should be setting at the auto choke? Iíve noticed thereís marking on the plastic cover. What should I look for, something I need to adjust on the carb? I am pretty new to working on cars, so I don't know where to start. Is there a step-by-step guide for tuning this carb? Where could I find such info.


Thanks for any help and advice.
MustangJon83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-07-2012, 03:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Teebone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 6,070
Sounds like you are getting too much air in the engine, hold your hand over the carb and if it keeps running, you are sucking air from somewhere. Maybe a vacuum leak

59 T-Bird (elegant old lady)
68 Fastback (work in progress)
70 Mustang convert (wonderful sunny day driver)
72 Mach One (Greenwich Concours 1st place winner)
95 Vette convert LT1 (faster then my ability to drive it)

VMFTP 2.0 Question #19 Winner! (sort of)
Teebone is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-07-2012, 06:25 PM
Senior Member
 
datac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,699
I'd wager you've got a vacuum leak.

datac is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-07-2012, 08:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 668
I had the same problem, I could not find the vacuum leak, I had a post or 2 on it.
I changed the spark control valve, and it took care of it.
(ok, so could the problem with the spark control valve have been the leak?)

excerpt of an old post....
"find a post on a diff forum, someones describes my issue to a T. He fixed it by changing the spark control valve. I had a rebuild kit handy, I changed my spark control valve. The car now starts, idles, warms up and stays running(whew)."

Good luck, I know how frustrating it can be. I wasn't confident enough to rebuild my own, I wasted many months mailing it back and forth to a rebuilder.


George
1966 Sprint 200
We got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it's dark... and we're wearing sunglasses
George.Galo is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-07-2012, 11:07 PM
Senior Member
 
bartl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 27,012
Garage
Yep, sounds like a vacuum leak.



6F09A 63A 8 26 26D 71 1 5
bartl is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-08-2012, 12:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Frank-n-stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Grand Prairie, TX
Posts: 195
Could be carb is set too lean. Try a little more throttle as you de-choke. If that cures it once you're in the main jet circuit, then you likely have it set too lean on the idle mix screw, or it could be the float level is a little too low. Good luck

'66 Coupe, 200cid, T-5, Vaporizer 1100, Mallory Unilite w/Hyfire VIA, Scarebird Disc Brakes, Comet 8" 4-lug Rearend, Vintage Appliance Wire Mags

6cyl Tranny & T-5 Swap Info
Frank-n-stang is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-08-2012, 08:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Explorer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Raphine, VA
Posts: 1,620
68 was the first year of no spark control valve and vacuum/centrifical advance distributor.

66 Coupe 200I6 (Back under restoration)
Explorer is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-08-2012, 04:51 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
MustangJon83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 20
Mad

I doubled a tripled check all the vacuum lines and everything seems to be hooked up. I even covered the carb with my hand and she stalled right away so I donít think thatís the issue. Thereís no spark control valve on this model so I guess Iíll have to start turning screws again until I find the right spot lol. Thanks for the help guys.
MustangJon83 is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-08-2012, 05:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Explorer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Raphine, VA
Posts: 1,620
If you haven't thrown away your rebuild instructions, look for the internal power control valve. Not a removeable part, just a spring loaded valve. If this is stuck it will give you this indication. Item#23
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Autolite 1100.jpg (101.3 KB, 16 views)

66 Coupe 200I6 (Back under restoration)
Explorer is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-11-2012, 09:45 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
MustangJon83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 20
Mystery solved, apparently the guy I bought the car from tossed on a autolite 1100 for and auto trans. Mines a 3 speed, this is prob causing my issues. Now comes the fun part, trying to find the correct replacement.
MustangJon83 is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-11-2012, 09:56 PM
Senior Member
 
bartl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 27,012
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangJon83 View Post
Mystery solved, apparently the guy I bought the car from tossed on a autolite 1100 for and auto trans. Mines a 3 speed, this is prob causing my issues. Now comes the fun part, trying to find the correct replacement.
Probably not the cause of your stalling. Typically the differences between manual and auto trans carbs is minor and may include such things as an anti-stall dashpot for automatics. Make sure your curb idle screw is in far enough to open the throttle plates just a hair - then you can adjust it down from there.



6F09A 63A 8 26 26D 71 1 5
bartl is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-12-2012, 02:06 AM
Senior Member
 
datac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,699
Yep, other than the dashpot functionality they're pretty much interchangeable.

datac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Vintage Mustang Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome