Water Pump Question? - Vintage Mustang Forums
Vintage Mustang Forum
HomeForumGalleryClassifiedsAbout UsAdvertiseContact Us
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Go Back   Vintage Mustang Forums > General Discussion > Vintage Mustang Forum
Vintage-Mustang.com is the premier Ford Mustang Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 11-25-2012, 09:11 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Water Pump Question?

I'm new to all of this but I want to change my water pump to a hi flow water pump.. Question is: Is there any way of tell if your water pump has a back plate without removing it first..hope this isn't a dumb question but like I said I'm new to all of this...Tnx for any help.....
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (93.9 KB, 19 views)
Genehry is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-25-2012, 09:23 AM   #2 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Genehry View Post
I'm new to all of this but I want to change my water pump to a hi flow water pump.. Question is: Is there any way of tell if your water pump has a back plate without removing it first..hope this isn't a dumb question but like I said I'm new to all of this...Tnx for any help.....
Too easy. The early style is aluminum, the later style is iron. Why do you want high-flow, though? If your radiator isn't cutting it, a fancy pump won't help. I'm not aware of any high-flow replacement for the early pump.

The 289HP engine had a different pump, because it included curved vanes to prevent cavitation at high rpm. It's possible that this HP pump actually flowed at a slower rate than the standard pump.
Old 11-25-2012, 09:32 AM   #3 (permalink)