5 speed conversion - Page 2 - Vintage Mustang Forums
Vintage Mustang Forum
HomeForumGalleryClassifiedsAbout UsAdvertiseContact Us
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Go Back   Vintage Mustang Forums > General Discussion > Vintage Mustang Forum
Vintage-Mustang.com is the premier Ford Mustang Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-29-2012, 04:40 PM   #16 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Varilux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hickory Creek, TX
Posts: 1,051
Default

I did the T-5 conversion on my '65 inline 6. As everyone else has already said, it makes the car MUCH more enjoyable to drive.

Since then, I've read with interest the experiences of others who have done the conversion. Based on some of the stories, I would recommend going with Modern Driveline for everything (because you know everything should work together smoothly and they will make sure you have exactly what you need).

That said, your conversion will be much easier than mine (because you don't have to change out the clutch disc), but still- I've yet to see a complaint from anyone who has gone through Modern Driveline.

Best of luck!
__________________

http://just-a-six.tumblr.com
'65 Coupe, 200ci, T5spd, Silver Smoke Gray, Std Red Interior, DUI ign, Chockostang disc conversion, 3.55 8" rear, CI dual header/exhaust
'03 Convertible, V6, auto, Silver Metallic, Black Top
'14 GT Coupe Sterling Gray, 5.0, 6M, Track Pack, Glass Roof, Brick Red interior, FRPP
Varilux is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-29-2012, 04:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 52
Default

one thing i can tell you i did wrong is that i got a spec stage 2 clutch, unless you are making major power you dont need it... especially for a 289 (it would be hard to get a 289 to that power level)...
rwboring is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-29-2012, 09:10 PM   #18 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
tom991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vero Beach, FL but currently live in Korea
Posts: 1,696
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwboring View Post
you might want to check out mustangsteve's cable conversion... it was an easy install and hell while you're making the tranny better might as well make the linkage better (i think it was about 300 with the pedal)...

or you can always add it later on! What clutch do you have in it?
I haven't installed mine yet but I have all the parts and pieces except for the cable. I have a 5 bolt block with an extra bell housing with the adapter plate installed, and a Hayes, clutch, and pressure plate. The TO bearing says Timkin on it. I have a Z-bar stabilizer and the original pedals. My car was converted to a C4 auto before I bought it but it came with the clutch linkage in the trunk for the original top loader that was in the car.
tom991 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-29-2012, 11:52 PM   #19 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 625
Default

If you have yet to get one, and are planning on a NEW T5, streetsideauto.com had DIRT CHEAP brand new World Class T5's a while back... I called them just to verify it wasn't a typo when I ordered mine!! lol Showed up still in the ford box!
__________________
The beatings will continue until morale improves!

One Man, One Arm, One Car...
(and one laptop to Google "How-To everything"...
1965 Fastback which I restomodded/murdered in my garage...

In just one year!

http://i272.photobucket.com/albums/j...90/Oneyear.jpg
theman1990 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 06:48 AM   #20 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
22GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 21,995
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom991 View Post
22GT, are you saying that the original speedometer cable won't work with T5 conversion?
Yeah, the 4-speed cable connects to the RH side of the trans, and is WAY too long for a T5. The gear spins the other way, too.
__________________
Amateur restorer. Well, sometimes I have been paid for it. But not right now.
22GT is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 06:51 AM   #21 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
22GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 21,995
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 66Restomod View Post
I had to get a new fly wheel (28 oz imbalance) to mount the 10.5 clutch.
Not true. The BOSS 302 10.5" clutch uses the same mounting pattern as the 10" clutch in the 289 2V.
__________________
Amateur restorer. Well, sometimes I have been paid for it. But not right now.
22GT is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 07:52 AM   #22 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
tom991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vero Beach, FL but currently live in Korea
Posts: 1,696
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 22GT View Post
Yeah, the 4-speed cable connects to the RH side of the trans, and is WAY too long for a T5. The gear spins the other way, too.
The PO pulled the top loader and put in a C4. The speedo cable is on the drivers side of the tranny. Is the C4 cable the same as the T5 cable?
tom991 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 08:25 AM   #23 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theman1990 View Post
If you have yet to get one, and are planning on a NEW T5, streetsideauto.com had DIRT CHEAP brand new World Class T5's a while back... I called them just to verify it wasn't a typo when I ordered mine!! lol Showed up still in the ford box!
they are 1700 on that site... i got mine from summit about 18 months ago for like 1200 (plus 100 shipping IIRC)
rwboring is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 07:03 PM   #24 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
22GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 21,995
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom991 View Post
The PO pulled the top loader and put in a C4. The speedo cable is on the drivers side of the tranny. Is the C4 cable the same as the T5 cable?
Yes.
__________________
Amateur restorer. Well, sometimes I have been paid for it. But not right now.
22GT is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 07:19 PM   #25 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bartl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: West Rutland, Vermont, USA
Posts: 14,915
Default

Yeah, but the T5 doesn't whine like my toploader. :-)
__________________
http://forums.vintage-mustang.com/signaturepics/sigpic19079_1.gif

6F09A 63A 8 26 09D 71 1 5
bartl is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 02:33 AM   #26 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
victor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cotati, CA
Posts: 553
Default

I don't remember exactly what I did for a gear when I did the conversion to a T5 in '93. I used a spare '68 bell housing, the adapter plate, the yoke that came with the trans (pulled it myself from a newly wrecked '93 GT) and modified the rear mount. I had to have the drive shaft shortened and the DS shop fitted a spread-dimension front universal to adapt the yoke to my DS. The prior weekend I'd installed a 3.40 tractionlock rear end. And, man, the T5 just brought it all together. Oh, I had an 11" drilled flywheel lying around (from an early 400 SBF) and put in an 11" Qualitee diaphragm clutch set. I didn't worry about the back up lights; I control them with a micro switch under the dash.
victor is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 09:38 AM   #27 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Smitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: West Melbourne FL
Posts: 694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bartl View Post
Yeah, but the T5 doesn't whine like my toploader. :-)
LOL! Mine does, but only when down shifting in to 1st or 2nd. I do kinda miss the gear noise.
__________________


Steve

64 1/2 D code 5 speed Coupe
07 GT 5 speed Vert

Plus 9 more that I no longer own!
Smitten is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 12:11 PM   #28 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by victor View Post
I didn't worry about the back up lights; I control them with a micro switch under the dash.
i got a new T5Z from summit and it came with neutral and backup sensors, just made the wires work... it was too easy... the thing about it is you don't have to have the clutch in to start it like a "new car" but it has to be out of gear... works pretty well!
rwboring is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Vintage Mustang Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2 ©2009, Crawlability, Inc.