69 Tach help needed - Vintage Mustang Forums
Vintage Mustang Forum
HomeForumGalleryClassifiedsAbout UsAdvertiseContact Us
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Go Back   Vintage Mustang Forums > General Discussion > Vintage Mustang Forum
Vintage-Mustang.com is the premier Ford Mustang Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-28-2012, 08:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: East, TN
Posts: 466
Default 69 Tach help needed

69 S code factory tach. Interior came in boxes. Tach plug from harness that plugs into tach is not cut, wires from back of tach OK. PO ran wire from plus side of coil to ignition switch. Tach doesn't work. Seems like something isn't hooked up. Once when batt was low tach arm swept across all the way and back so its getting power just not from coil. Any help would be appreciated.
__________________
69 Mach 1, 351C 4bbl, 4 spd, 3.25 posi.
tommyjack is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-28-2012, 09:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
gregb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Redondo Beach CA
Posts: 1,346
Default

You need to get a hold of a wiring diagram. The factory tach has that power wire running through it before it goes to the coil. It's not like an add on tach where you just attach a separate lead to the coil.
__________________
69 Mach One, 428CJ, Legend 5 Speed, 3.91's.
gregb is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2012, 09:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: East, TN
Posts: 466
Default

Looked at several diagrams and googled searches, some mention a wire from the fuse box. Some mention the "pink wire".
__________________
69 Mach 1, 351C 4bbl, 4 spd, 3.25 posi.
tommyjack is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2012, 09:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
22GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 24,432
Default

Attaching a factory Mustang tach to the coil in any way can easily destroy it. The tach is connected in series between the ignition switch and the pink resistance wire in the main harness.
__________________
Amateur restorer. Well, sometimes I have been paid for it. But not right now.
22GT is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2012, 09:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: clearwater fl
Posts: 114
Default

...

Last edited by a228380; 11-28-2012 at 10:42 PM.
a228380 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2012, 10:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 18,642
Default

Light switch...tach? The posted question is factory tach. The Suntach or other add on tach is totally different from the factory tach.
slim is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2012, 11:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,769
Default

Here is a post that I had troubleshooting mine - hope it helps.
palerider is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-29-2012, 07:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,405
Default

The tach is "in line" with the ignition - no tach - no start. Does the engine start?
69M1SCODE is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 12:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: East, TN
Posts: 466
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 69M1SCODE View Post
The tach is "in line" with the ignition - no tach - no start. Does the engine start?
Yep, sure does. With or without the tack pluged in.
__________________
69 Mach 1, 351C 4bbl, 4 spd, 3.25 posi.
tommyjack is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 12:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 18,642
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tommyjack View Post
Yep, sure does. With or without the tack pluged in.
The tach completes the circuit, it's in series in the run position. Starting will work either way but in the run position a burnt out/blown tach (factory tach) will open the coil circuit.


Slim


Have you looked on Tachmans Website? Stuff on there explains it pretty well.

Last edited by slim; 12-01-2012 at 12:19 AM.
slim is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 11:23 AM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: East, TN
Posts: 466
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slim View Post
The tach completes the circuit, it's in series in the run position. Starting will work either way but in the run position a burnt out/blown tach (factory tach) will open the coil circuit.


Slim


Have you looked on Tachmans Website? Stuff on there explains it pretty well.
I'll check it out. Thanks
__________________
69 Mach 1, 351C 4bbl, 4 spd, 3.25 posi.
tommyjack is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 11:25 AM   #13 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: East, TN
Posts: 466
Default

Thanks for the links. I have pertonix as well.
__________________
69 Mach 1, 351C 4bbl, 4 spd, 3.25 posi.
tommyjack is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 10:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: East, TN
Posts: 466
Default

Looked at the Tach Man's site and found a diagram that shows the tach wired into the engine gauge feed harness. I thought this was for a 67-68 and not a 69. Also is the famous "pink resistor" wire found in the egine gauge feed harness tha exits the fire wall?
Thanks
__________________
69 Mach 1, 351C 4bbl, 4 spd, 3.25 posi.
tommyjack is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 10:57 PM   #15 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Goldthwaite, Texas
Posts: 88
Default

The tach wiring goes from the ignition switch, through the tach, through the pink resistor wire to the coil via the engine gauge feed harness.
TheRktmn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Vintage Mustang Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2 ©2009, Crawlability, Inc.