Filler or Primer? - Vintage Mustang Forums
Vintage Mustang Forum
HomeForumGalleryClassifiedsAbout UsAdvertiseContact Us
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Go Back   Vintage Mustang Forums > General Discussion > Vintage Mustang Forum
Vintage-Mustang.com is the premier Ford Mustang Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 01-18-2013, 11:08 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Filler or Primer?

Would you put body filler on top of primer, or, should body filler only go on bare metal? I've heard it argued both ways.

My opinion is filler sticks best to bare metal.
Bucket Lister is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-18-2013, 11:15 AM   #2 (permalink)

I'm not an expert. But based on the research I've done, as well talking to a manufacturer, body filler sticks to epoxy primer better than it sticks to bare metal.
Klutch is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 11:16 AM   #3 (permalink)

SPI,......filler on epoxy
Son,.........."This old car is cool."

USMC Security Forces, Kamiseya Japan, 0311

Build Thread: http://forums.vintage-mustang.com/vi...sted-pile.html
Israel is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 02:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Supporting Member
Just some guy

I use both ways, depending on the circumstances and what I'm doing. My first preference is always the traditional bare metal application though.
GypsyR is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 02:55 PM   #5 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Israel View Post
SPI,......filler on epoxy
This is what I do.
Fstbk is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 03:04 PM   #6 (permalink)

I go filler on bare metal. It's been my personal experience it sticks better. Do whatever you crave.
JohnnyK is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 03:06 PM   #7 (permalink)