T5 Swap Questions - Vintage Mustang Forums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-25-2013, 08:06 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Castle, DE
Posts: 167
T5 Swap Questions

I know it's been beat to death but I need to ask a few questions, sorry.

I didn't plan to do a trans swap anytime soon but I found a great deal I couldn't pass on. I should be picking it up tomorrow. I think I read somewhere that I can reuse the c4 trans mount for the T5, is that true? I plan to use a clutch cable, is there anyway good way to keep my headers and use a cable? I have heddman long tubes and I really don't want to replace them (not sure of the style they were on the car when I bought it).

The setup I'm buying includes a 10k mile rebuilt by tremec t5, the bell, pressure plate, flywheel, cable, pilot bearing, clutch fork, firewall adjuster, clutch, resurfaced flywheel, and a Steeda Tri ax. The trans has 10k on it but everything else has 2k on them.

Is there anything else that I am going to need? This is all from a fox body so I know I need the 28oz flywheel. Is there anything else that can't be used?

2000 Mustang Gt (Daily Driver)
1969 Mustang Fastback (Project)
WiseBeyondYears is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-25-2013, 09:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Black65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,998
No, you cannot use the C4 mount with a T5. Many conversion mounts are available. The issue with the cable is burning the cable. Route it to avoid contact with the header if possible. It's a great upgrade, you'll be glad you did it!

Black65 is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-25-2013, 10:14 PM
Senior Member
 
22GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 29,217
The mount? The C4 and T5 use the same rubber insulator, but the T5 requires a special crossmember.

Amateur restorer. Well, sometimes I have been paid for it. But not right now.
22GT is offline  
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-25-2013, 11:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: charleston SC
Posts: 468
yes the rubber mount is re-used, with a new conversion crossmember.

headers i'm not sure about as its different on every car it seems but most say the standard long tubes are not the best on a cable setup.

you'll probably need a different shifter lever unless you have long arms.

Lee12609 is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-25-2013, 11:44 PM
Senior Member
 
tom991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vero Beach, FL but currently live in Korea
Posts: 2,562
I bought an OEM replica shifter that bolts to the shifter shaft. Looks like the original toploader shifter but the reverse lockout is just for show.

You may be able to find some heat insulated tubing for the clutch cable.
tom991 is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 05:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Caper50's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,892
Just wondering, is there a particular year Fox transmission to look for??
Caper50 is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 08:16 AM
Senior Member
 
22GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 29,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caper50 View Post
Just wondering, is there a particular year Fox transmission to look for??
86-93 was the stronger "World Class" version.

Amateur restorer. Well, sometimes I have been paid for it. But not right now.
22GT is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 08:19 AM
Senior Member
 
22GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 29,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom991 View Post
I bought an OEM replica shifter that bolts to the shifter shaft. Looks like the original toploader shifter but the reverse lockout is just for show.

Amateur restorer. Well, sometimes I have been paid for it. But not right now.
22GT is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 08:26 AM
Senior Member
 
ynned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 1,361
The issue with headers is more than just heat. Some collectors block the boss on the bell housing where the cable enters. Varies with make of header.

Dennis Harrelson
65 2+2, owned since '72
Lots of mods, now just another sad project hoping for resurrection.
ynned is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
22GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 29,217
I'd avoid the issue by using stock linkage. That widens your choice of brake booster, too, if you want power.

Amateur restorer. Well, sometimes I have been paid for it. But not right now.
22GT is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 10:47 AM
Senior Member
 
j persons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Natchitoches, LA
Posts: 1,572
Make sure the flywheel is compatible with your engine balance. Your engine is probably balanced at 28 oz, and most T5 flywheels are balanced at 50 oz. If the components aren't matched, it will have a very bad vibration.

John

Dynacorn 67 fastback. Dart 363, Close ratio Magnum 6 speed, 3.70 Eaton Truetrac, SorT suspension. Still in pieces.
'14 SHO with most all the bells and whistles. Stock for now.
j persons is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 11:11 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Castle, DE
Posts: 167
Ok thanks I knew about the flywheel. I don't think ill be doing power brakes, I will do a disk swap eventually but it is just going to be a street car so I'm not too concerned with the power booster. I would go with a hydrolic setup but I am trying to keep costs down right now and the t5 comes with a cable so I'd like to utilize it. Same with the stock linkages, I don't have them and I'd rather just use the cable since I have it.

2000 Mustang Gt (Daily Driver)
1969 Mustang Fastback (Project)
WiseBeyondYears is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 11:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Maxd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Pierce, Florida
Posts: 339
The Heddman's won't work with the stock zbar setup. If you go hydraulic you can route however necessary.

I think I have carport tunnel syndrom
Maxd is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 07:22 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
National parts depot sells the bracket,
Shady is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 07:24 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Do you have a pedal assembly, you may need to go to shorty headers
Shady is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Vintage Mustang Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome