Vintage Mustang Forums banner

Beau's 68 Coupe

391K views 621 replies 139 participants last post by  Dave the Pole-Sitter 
#1 ·
I like to take pictures of my cars and what I do to them, so I plan on using this as my build thread. First things first though, I am not a mechanic. I work on my cars for fun and therapy. I screw things up sometimes, so bear with me. If I do something stupid, be gentle.

Here is the car the day I got it:

I bought it from a friend of the family for an amazing price. I bugged the owner for years about it, persistence paid off. He had it restored around 6 years ago, and it was rarely driven after that. It sat for a long time, so it needs some love. The tires would not even try to inflate when air was put to them, there were very weather cracked. New ones were put on immediately so that I could roll this thing around.

The next thing I did was try and start it. I changed the oil, drained the gas tank, and topped off the coolant. I plopped a new battery in, and she started right up. I was amazed. The previous owner had the engine re-built when it was painted, but I was still surprised. I rolled it out and washed it.

See less See more
#3 · (Edited)
I have only found a few small rust places. The very front of the drivers door has a small bubble under the paint, but not popped through yet. The top of the inner fender had a bubble, and this:

I hear battery tray rot is common. I bought a replacement tray and inner fender apron from Mustangs Unlimited and went to town. I had a 280z in the past that I learned to weld on, this was a fairly easy job. Fender off:

Chopped out:

Mocked in:

Tacked in:

Primered:

#5 · (Edited)