Let's talk tire load rating - Vintage Mustang Forums

2Likes

post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-05-2017, 10:26 AM Thread Starter

Garage
Let's talk tire load rating

Discount Tire is refusing to sell me a tire that's load rated at 1,201 lbs per tire because according to their computer, that's not enough for a '66 Mustang.

Considering that this car weighs maybe 3,200 lbs and well under 4,000 with two people and a tank full of gas, is their computer failing them or is that truly too low of a load rating for the car?

I'm not an expert, but I play one on the internet.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-05-2017, 10:32 AM

What size tire and brand is it? 1200 is a little low. look for something closer to 1400-1500 better safe then sorry

Last edited by cmefly; 04-05-2017 at 10:38 AM.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-05-2017, 10:34 AM Thread Starter

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmefly View Post
What size tire and brand is it?
BFGoodrich Sport Comp 2, 215/45/17, Sport version.

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-05-2017, 10:42 AM

Garage
I could see it if your car were a uni-Mustang, but it's not- it has 4 tires. 1,201 lbs x 4 = 4,804 lbs... plenty for what the car is rated at. I've got the same size tire on 2 of my '65's and they're rated for exactly the same weight.. Sounds to me like they don't want your business or $...
https://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires...omCompare1=yes

Did you see the size of that chicken?! -Dirty Steve
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-05-2017, 10:48 AM Thread Starter

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by gt350sr View Post
I could see it if your car were a uni-Mustang, but it's not- it has 4 tires. 1,201 lbs x 4 = 4,804 lbs... plenty for what the car is rated at. I've got the same size tire on 2 of my '65's and they're rated for exactly the same weight.. Sounds to me like they don't want your business or $...
https://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires...omCompare1=yes