Vintage Mustang Forums banner

66 V8 5 Lug Donor Shell

2K views 15 replies 14 participants last post by  image98 
#1 · (Edited)
Not sure if this is the correct forum for this but here goes.

I have a 66 200 that I want to convert to 5 lug steering and suspension.

I found a roller in my localish craigslist that is sans engine, trannie, fenders and hood. Needs floors, etc,...

It was a C code with a 3 speed.

The car rolls and steers. It has four wheel manual drums, manual steering and an eight inch rear end.

Seller wants a $1000 for the whole thing, or will part out the steering gear, front spindles and brakes, 8 inch rear and 5 lug wheels that are on it for $850.

I’m pretty new to this so I’m not really sure if this is a good deal or not for the parts. I simply can’t take the whole car due to space issues. The $850 includes the sellers work to remove the parts. I’m thinking there’s also a bit tacked on in an effort to get me to buy the whole thing.

I’m thinking that the price just for the parts I want should be between 400 and 600.

Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Harlon

See less See more
#2 ·
Depends on the market and rust. For $1000 I just got a 289 2V auto not running that was actually a VERY complete car but it was mostly disassembled. Lucky me, I could see where all the rust is, the original deluxe seat upholstery has no tips, dash has one tiny crack, it came with new long pans and I will only need one short pan and a couple small patches, except for the rotting cowl. It will hafta have a total restoration but it's a project for my little son and me. I believe I got a great deal, and the axle, engine, trans, and the new front suspension parts it already has would bring more than that. You could buy the car, use the parts you want and probably still sell the shell to someone that wants to a full custom job.

#3 ·