Fuel pump broke or undersized? - Vintage Mustang Forums
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By trkpny2
  • 1 Post By zray

post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-06-2017, 03:36 PM Thread Starter

Fuel pump broke or undersized?

I've been running this Holley Mighty Mite fuel pump for three years:
https://www.holley.com/products/fuel...s/parts/12-427

This year it started acting fuel starved so I swapped out all the filters and fixed that problem. However, I noticed that even after the filter changes I was having fuel pressure drops under WOT. It idles at around 4.5 psi, but after an eighth mile of WOT it will drop down to under one psi (at which point I let out of the throttle).

I never checked it when new, so now I don't know if the pump is petering out or if it's undersized. I would like to just get another one (for ease of installation), but I don't want to replace undersized with undersized and get the same problem.

Engine is a mild port 94 5.0L with a crappy 289 edelbrock performer intake and mid length headers. Well under the 400hp that the pump is advertised for.

So, replace or upgrade?

1966 Mustang 302ci 4r70w, csrp front discs, 8.8 rear, EPAS, Fitech for fuel
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-06-2017, 10:18 PM

What type of fuel pressure gauge are you using and where is it located at? What carb are you using?

Last edited by cmefly; 09-06-2017 at 10:24 PM.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-07-2017, 01:45 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmefly View Post
What type of fuel pressure gauge are you using and where is it located at? What carb are you using?
I just have a generic parts store gauge and I put it between the filter and carb. I'm using a summit brand carb. The carb is like an autolite 4100 I think. 600cfm with vac secondaries. Rebuilt three years back.