Power source forelec.fan - Vintage Mustang Forums
 3Likes

post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-14-2019, 07:22 PM Thread Starter

Power source forelec.fan

What is best source or connection point for electric radiator fan. 67 289
Solenoid which post?

fuse box?

thef an temp sender is thermostat housing mounted.
TY

I'm not good at following diagrams.

TY,
Gmpy
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-14-2019, 09:53 PM

You need a relay. I had mine ran to the "I" post and on a temp sensor before installing an AAW wiring harness
gimpystoy likes this.
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-14-2019, 09:59 PM

Garage
I built a stand alone harness with a relay. My pickup point was the battery positive terminal and grounded at several locations

Brad

post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-14-2019, 10:22 PM

How are you planning to activate the fan? If it's your main cooling fan putting it on a switch won't work.

You really need a fan controller. This is the one I have:

https://www.summitracing.com/parts/der-16759

If you are not good with diagrams find a friend to help you. This is serious stuff, fans draw a lot of current.

On mine I have the yellow and red wire connected to the solenoid. I then have the black wire grounded to the alternator ground post. The fan is activated by the probe which I have inserted into the fins near my radiator inlet. Because I have the red and yellow wire connected together at the solenoid the fan can run when the car is off like a modern vehicle. I eliminated the green wire (it's just an override that you can attach to a switch inside the car).

1965 Mustang
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-14-2019, 10:31 PM