Is this too much initial timing for my 302? - Vintage Mustang Forums
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By JRFox

post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-19-2019, 04:57 AM Thread Starter

Is this too much initial timing for my 302?

My 302 in my 69 Fastback was built by me a long time ago but has not done much mileage as the rest of the car and other problems took a long time to get it on the road. It has only done about 1000 miles now.

From the Edelbrock Performer RPM range, it has cylinder heads, Airgap inlet manifold and cam. Edelbrock 9635 625 CFM carburettor and an Edelbrock timing chain. JBA shorty headers, 2.5" exhaust system and Magnaflow silencers. I am also running a Duraspark 2 distributor with a GM ignition module and a mid 1990's Mustang square ignition coil.

The other day I decided to recheck and maybe improve the carburettor and timing settings. I am no tuning expert but I know the basics of what I am doing.

I checked the timing with the vacuum pipe unplugged from the distributor and plugged. I am using the manifold vacuum port on the carburettor. I also had a vacuum gauge on the carburettors large manifold vacuum port.

My harmonic balancer is the original 69 one, but it has not slipped as I checked it with a homemade spark plug piston stop, and the zero was spot on. And the Edelbrock timing chain only has about 1000 miles on it, so it should be fine with no stretch.

The instructions for the Edelbrock cam say to have between 10 - 14 degrees initial timing and 32 to 34 degrees total timing which is in by 3000 - 3500 RPM.

My main question is that the engine seemed to really like lots of initial timing. As above, the instructions say 10 - 14 degrees. But the engine idle was even smoother when I went above this. Even getting close to 20 degrees, it was running so smoothly. And with this extra timing, the vacuum gauge was improving.