Vintage Mustang Forums

Vintage Mustang Forums (https://forums.vintage-mustang.com/)
-   Vintage Mustang Forum (https://forums.vintage-mustang.com/vintage-mustang-forum/)
-   -   The Great EFI Debate (https://forums.vintage-mustang.com/vintage-mustang-forum/1108962-great-efi-debate.html)

JonnybravoM3 01-29-2018 12:21 AM

The Great EFI Debate

As I'm busy ordering replacement parts online for my classic, i constantly find my finger hovering over the Holley EFI kit... don't know why I'm itching.

I love the idea of an easy reliable turnkey system, but I'm new to this carb game and have yet to really experience it.

Am i missing out? If i board the EFI train will this kill the classic car experience?

What are the experiences of members who have done this and for those who have not, why haven't you?

Im in no rush, so far the car has not given me any issues and she's a once or twice a week kinda gal (not a DD). So rather than adding the kit to my shopping cart, it's been added to the wish list.

Happy Monday!

JB

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk

Kelly_H 01-29-2018 12:50 AM

Thing is, a carb is really reliable when it's properly tuned and you do even a little tiny bit of maintenance to keep it going (you know, things like making sure the floats are good and the filter's clean).

The thing that a lot of people don't consider about fuel injection systems is that "the cost is not the cost". That is, the price of the throttle body itself does not usually include the price of all the lines, the fittings, the filters, the pump (most end up modifying their gas tank and putting in an in-tank pump to keep it quiet and happy), the extra vent for the gas tank, etc. A lot of ticky tack little stuff adds up and can get you in a thousand bucks deeper if you're not watching it.

In the end, there are 3 things that throttle body fuel injection systems do better than a well-tuned carb:
1) Start more quickly (not any more reliably, just more quickly)