Classic Performance Products (CPP) Steering Box Installation 1965 Coupe - Vintage Mustang Forums
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By pastangguy

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-17-2018, 08:41 PM Thread Starter

Classic Performance Products (CPP) Steering Box Installation 1965 Coupe

I know there are a few threads already addressing this issue but I thought I'd add an updated one with an overview of my experience. I apologize in advance for the lengthy post but I want to provide as much info as possible.

I just finished the install of my CPP power steering box this weekend on my 1965 289, C code coupe. My car is a driver quality car in above average condition but not show quality. I went to this setup from a 16:1 manual box. I'll try to add some pics this weekend if I get some time. I am a shade tree mechanic with above average skills and lots of tools, but no expert by any means. Unfortunately, I don't have a lift so jacks and stands had to do. I will say that this is definitely a weekend project. I was not in any hurry so I just took my time.

PARTS:
These are the parts I bought and where acquired. IIRC, everything ran me about $600 (without the pump). I'll add part numbers and actual totals as I find the packages I already tossed out. I am in PA and the parts came from CA. I feel the shipping time was reasonable for the distance. I think no more than a week for any of the parts.:

1.) CPP steering box - 400 Series; part CP5005MU