Need Help With Installing '70 Mach 1 Interior - Vintage Mustang Forums

post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-25-2018, 02:38 PM Thread Starter

Need Help With Installing '70 Mach 1 Interior

I have new foam and covers for my 1970 Mach 1. I'd like to install it on my seat frames myself. I've never done upholstery before and I've been reading online articles and watching instructional videos.

The problem is I haven't found any instructions specifically for the 69/70 Mach 1 interior. (I'm not sure if it's called, "Deluxe", "Décor" or what.) I disassembled a front seat and took lots of pictures during the process and I'm having trouble figuring out how to reassemble everything. The pictures aren't much help because my seats were so deteriorated. (They had the factory upholstery.)

Specifically, how do I attach the bottom of the upholstery just inside the bolsters? Whenever I watch a video or follow a slide show, they always skip that part. "Now that we've attached the bottom, let's pull down and hog ring the rest". Also, my interior is different from everything I've seen online. There doesn't appear to be areas where I'm supposed to slide in the lacing rods. Again, my factory interior isn't much help because it's such a mess.

Can anyone assist me with this? Do you know of a good instructional slide show or video specific for my interior?

Thanks!

Currently working on a 1970 Mach 1 project. See it here: http://forums.vintage-mustang.com/vi...ode-build.html
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-25-2018, 05:32 PM