Gt40 heads on a pre-h.o block: Steam-holes, a guide and walk-through - Vintage Mustang Forums
 4Likes
  • 3 Post By Scarlet-302
  • 1 Post By 2nd 66

post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-27-2018, 04:20 PM Thread Starter

Gt40 heads on a pre-h.o block: Steam-holes, a guide and walk-through

Hello Mustang aficionados,

Recently i've decided to swap gt40 heads I have onto my 69 302 block and came across the subject of steam-holes. I know there have been many threads about the steam-hole dilemma, but in my hours of reading, I did not find many that provided a good account of just what was going on with the steam holes and why it should even matter. So, being in the unique position of having an old 69 block as well as a 96 5.0 block in-front of me, as well as multiple sets of heads, I decided to put together a guide demonstrating the differences in the blocks and heads. Ultimately, its so you can make an educated decision on what's right for you. Disclaimer: I am not a ford engineer nor master engine builder. I can not account for all renditions of 302 blocks and heads out there, but my goal is to provide lots of pictorial evidence for which you can compare your combination to. My hunch says most blocks will fall into these two categories. 289's i'm not sure on, as they supposedly had different steam hole transfer ports then the 302's did.

Steam-Holes, What Are they?

What many refer to as steam-holes on 302 engines are these water passageways that appear on the block and head. They differ in location based on the generation of block. The images below show the block and cylinder with their accompanying steam holes. Figure 1 demonstrates the 69 302 with 68 302 heads, and Figure 2 demonstrates the 96 5.0 roller block with Gt40 heads. notice the steam holes and how they differ in location between the two blocks, while other passageways are the same.

Figure 1

Figure 2