I'll be moving permanently to AZ in about a year. I have a home there now with a 2017 Ford Fusion as my daily driver. I'll be bringing out my 1970 Mach 1 with me and want to get it tagged with Antique or Classic Car plates and registered as such. My first question is what is the difference between antique and classic if there is any? I know the car is exempt from emission testing regardless. Second question. Are there any restrictions on where or how often I can drive? I also want to put replica YOM (Year of Manufacture) plates on the car that would be correct for 1970, but I also want to customize it with a Vanity Number. The vanity number I want is available now so I'm thinking I'd like to get it now and assign it to the Fusion. When I permanently move to AZ, transfer that vanity number to the Mach 1. My third question is will this be possible? Can you have an Antique/Classic license with a vanity number?
Just did a bit of research, and it appears you cannot order the classic/historic plates for the Fusion and transfer them later to the Mach 1. The only "classic vehicle" plate you can get for your Mach 1 here in AZ is the "Historic Vehicle" plate, which states on the AZ DOT website, "$25 initial application fee/ $10 annual renewal. Vehicle must indicate a model date of original manufacture that is at least 25 years old. May require a vehicle inspection." When I checked on the "ServiceArizona" website, where one can order license plates for vehicles, there are no provisions to personalize the "Historic Vehicle" plate. I do have a YOM plate on my 65, and there are no restrictions on when, where, how far, etc., on operating my vehicle.
I don't know if you can use replica YOM plates here in Arizona. You'll have to contact the Arizona DOT in regards to that.
Arizona has four different "classic" vehicle plates. "Street Rod" - for 1948 or older vehicles; "Classic Car" - for fine or distinctive vehicles, i.e., Deuesenberg, Packard, Studebaker, etc.; Horseless Carriage - 1915 or older vehicles; and finally the "Historic Vehicle" - 25 years or older.
Be aware that effective 12/01/2018, Arizona has enacted a $32 per vehicle tax, errrrr, I mean FEE. It is to be paid yearly on top of your annual vehicle registration. This extra tax money, I mean FEE, is being used to fund the Arizona Department of Public Safety aka Highway Patrol.
When it comes to emissions testing, if you live in the Phoenix or Tucson metro area, then the following applies: "Vehicles that are model year 1967 and newer and more than 5 years old require emissions—this includes gasoline and diesel-fueled vehicles. Alternative fuel, flexible fuel (E85) and hybrid vehicles also require emissions. Newer vehicles are exempt for the first 5 years of registration. Some vehicles may require a different schedule. If unsure, call 1-877-myAZcar (1-877-692-9227.)" All other areas of Arizona do not require annual emissions testing.