Transmission Filter Change - Vintage Mustang Forums
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Houdini

post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-22-2019, 12:35 PM Thread Starter

Transmission Filter Change

I've been told (I am a rookie) not to change transmission fluid if there are not problems with the operation. The reason being new fluid will clean the transmission and create gunk and crap inside that will cause ultimate failure- and a rebuild. However I have had the car on ramps tending to rust issues so it's been sitting for about 2 weeks. I have noticed a transmission fluid leak on the ground below the pan and drips on the pan bolts. My thought is the pan gasket is bad because the car has not moved. Also the car sat for about 5 years, but has been running (I should say moving because it did not run well b4 I got) for past 999 miles b4 I got it. So my question is the pan gasket a good suspect? Since I've got the pan off i'm going to change out transmission filter too. And 2nd question- What transmission fluid is the best to put back in?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-22-2019, 12:45 PM

Garage
It's not that new fluid "creates" anything, it may swell old hardened seals and could cause friction material on the clutches and bands to degrade. You "could" capture and filter the old fluid for re-use, but a couple quarts of fresh ATF most likely won't do any harm. I definitely would not recommend any of the tranny flush service.

If you have an FMX, C-4 or C-6, use TYPE F ATF only.

You leak could also be the shift shaft seal and kickdown o-ring. Both can be replaced while you have the pan off.

Nothing worthwhile is ever quick, cheap or easy, those that can't do, complain

71 Mach 1

HOLLEY TECH PAGES
FORD OE TACH HOOKUP FORD OE TACH HOOKUP w/MSD (pg 7)

Last edited by Hemikiller; 03-22-2019 at 12:47 PM.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-22-2019, 01:23 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rvahomes View Post