What do I have? (289 teardown) - Vintage Mustang Forums
 49Likes

post #1 of 36 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 10:18 PM Thread Starter

What do I have? (289 teardown)

PSA: Please bear with me - this is my first time ever looking at the internals of an engine, so I'm a total newbie when it comes to this stuff. Trying to learn and make a plan of attack here.

I pulled the 289 out of my '65 this weekend as I continue the overall teardown. Seeing as I was 14 when the motor was built, I didn't really get to be very involved in part selection. Couple that with the fact that my dad isn't the best at documentation, and I'm left trying to piece together what exactly is in my motor and what I should do to/with it. The engine was rebuilt in late 2001 and probably has less than 10,000 miles on it since then. My original plan was to fully rebuild again and do a roller conversion (at the recommendation of my engine builder), but as I got to thinking I was wondering if it made sense to try and limit doing a full rebuild and focus on heads, intake, and carb. The motor has always had a little tick, but I know it had an exhaust leak (headers) and I was told it had solid lifters, which made more noise (I've not been able to verify that and I doubt it based on cam info I've found). Here's what I've been able to decipher, based on receipts and what I've disassembled so far:

- C5AE-6015E 289 block - bored 0.040" over
- Turned crank/resized rods (no more information), ARP rod bolts
- Speed-Pro L2482F40 0.040" overbore flat-top forged pistons
- Clevite 229-1734 camshaft (looks like duration @ 0.050" is 204/214 and lift .448"/.472") with new (unknown) lifters
- Clevite 215-4051 push rods
- Clevite 211-1915 and 211-1932 exhaust and intake valves (stock replacements, it looks like)
- Comp Cams 144216 Magnum 1.6 roller rockers
- Edelbrock Performer intake (definitely being replaced)