• 1 Post By geicoman58
  • 1 Post By Boss5Oh
  • 1 Post By 22GT
  • 1 Post By 66#3
  • 1 Post By mustangstofear

post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-13-2019, 12:19 PM Thread Starter

Engine Bay and frame rails

Hi all,

kind of a newbie here. I have a '67 Coupe with a 289. We just removed the engine to see how much sheet metal work needs to be done in the engine bay.
Two big things that need to be repaired are both side Front frame rail and floor supports. Both are a rusty swiss cheese mess.

The drivers side shock tower has some very strange welding and the passenger side battery apron is a complete mess.

Other than that the engine bay is OK.

So here is my question. I'm looking at buying the "Full shock tower" for both drivers and passenger side (from CJ). Those seem to come as a complete kit (sans the engine mounts) but require a bunch of work and welding to get these in. Also purchasing the floor supports. Together these look like they will have everything i need to get back to 'original'

-Or- i'm looking at buying Total control products full "Slip" system. This system seems to be complete too but requires some aprons to be purchased to get rid of the rust.

The TCP changes from Original to modified but gives me 'new' technology and a better ride. I'm not trying to make this car a street racer or performance machine... jsut keep it a Sunday driver.

Anybody have this same debate? Any experience with the TCP product?

"Carl" Mustang
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-13-2019, 01:00 PM

Have at look at Jo Daddys garage utube video series where he rebuilds his 67 mustang. For your stated end goal, I would just stay stockish. You can add lots of bolt in or weld in items that will make it better. Save the vin number stamps! I would also check out NPD over other mustang vendors. Always more issues, work and money than you originally think..... Are you doing the work yourself?
vegasloki likes this.