AC Compressor Repair/Replacement Options - Vintage Mustang Forums
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By 69GT350H
  • 1 Post By 66#3
  • 1 Post By rhutt

post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 05-17-2019, 05:09 PM Thread Starter

Garage
AC Compressor Repair/Replacement Options

I went to repair shop today to get my AC system (134A) recharged and was told the compressor was shot. A year ago, I had "cool" air, but not not cold. Today the clutch tried to engage but the compressor just sorta chirped. The diagnosis was that the compressor wasn't spinning freely. I put the $1300 estimate in my back pocket and checked on options.

One option is to rebuild the compressor myself. I see a gasket kit runs about $35. I've never done it before, but can turn a wrench. Is this practical as a workshop project over the weekend. I would assume I would still need to buy a drier. I'm not sure how to make sure the clutch is good until the compressor is good.

I called Old Air Products (local) about a second option. They sell an "under hood performance kit" that replaces all of my under hood items with new for $650.

Both options would require recharging the system.

Anyone have experience with either? Other suggestions?

Bill

6F07C
Color: Y
Trim: 22
Axle: 6
Trans: 6
Build Date: July 18, 1966

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 05-17-2019, 07:59 PM

All options require recharging the system. You can get a pressure gauge and a good vacuum pump for about $150 at Harbor Freight. It will pay for itself the first time you use it.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 05-17-2019, 09:46 PM

Well, since you're asking for advice, if it was my car I would definitely go with a modern A/C kit. Likely, everything else in your A/C system is also shot after 50 years. It would really suck to rebuild the factory pump only to find out you have multiple leaks.

The modern A/C kits work well. The newer pumps are smaller, lighter and have less drag on the engine.