Temporary Paint Job - Vintage Mustang Forums
 20Likes

post #1 of 38 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 12:36 PM Thread Starter

Temporary Paint Job

Hello all,

Here is my scenario. I have a 1967 fastback that has been primed and in pieces for 15+ years. I also have a beater, rusty, 68 coupe that I picked up just because it could run and drive (though the electrical is hoaky at best). I've been upgrading the drivetrain on the coupe in hopes to swap that over to the fastback at a later date.

Now, the second big factor is that I am a high school shop teacher. And one thing that I've learned is that kids break stuff, scratch stuff, and care very little for other people's things. So, I'd love to bring my fastback to the shop, finally paint it, and start putting it back together again, but I know that it'd get all scratched up before it ever got finished.

My new plan/idea- What if I just got a quick single stage paint coat on the fastback so that I could get it it on the road again? It's been primed and in a garage for 15 years. If I build the car the way that I have dreamed, it'll take me 5 more years before I'm done. But if I could get it driving, that'd be awesome. I don't know... I'm kind of just thinking out loud. But I could get it driveable within a year. But then I don't want to be driving in the weather with just primer. Yet I don't want to paint it if we are going to be swapping motors, replacing the interior, etc.

If you were going to do a protective coat of paint, what color would you do? Just the same color as the final color? My main concern is something that is cheap (Since it is temporary) and also easy to sand and scuff for when I'm ready to go back and finally paint it.

I'm open to all other ideas too. That car has just sat too long. I'd like to get it on the road, but I just don't want to 1) do a great paint job and have it ruined. And 2) don't want to drive it primed and have it rust.