Vintage Mustang Forums banner

Autolite 2100 carburetor vacuum issue ('68 302)

5K views 18 replies 5 participants last post by  Matter 
#1 ·
Noob here, obvious.

Problem: Fuel will not exit the bowl. I've completely rebuilt carb, cleaned and tested all passageways, and replaced fuel pump. I get fuel up to the bowl, but it will not exit to intake. Motor fires for 1 to 2 secs. Vacuum issue?

Pics: First pic shows bottom side of intake. Looks to me like the cover has a breather hole that is partially closed (took a hard hit perhaps in an earlier rebuild). Does this breather hole need to be opened more, and is it possibly causing the vacuum issue. Second pic shows carb. Front left is vacuum line that's plugged; I believe this line typically goes to a distributor valve, but I don't have that option on my distributor. Ok to plug this line as is?

Additional: Pulled heads, cleaned and lapped all valves. Gaskets looked decent. Forgot to observe valves opening and closing prior to removal. I'm thinking to mock it up without gaskets to test this step; that's the only way I know to test lifters.

Anything I'm missing? Suggestions for my vacuum issue? Thank you.

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
So the hole in your intake cover is no supposed to be there...as you note. That is the exhaust gas recirculation passage from one head to the other. It should not be mixing with your intake charge going & into the combustion chamber. I would block the passages at the intake gasket with thin metal for best results. You could repair it, but you still are putting a ton of heat under your carb. I don’t like that. If you live and drive in the cold all the time, maybe. But I’m in S. Texas.... not needed. As to the vacuum, you are correct that it should go to distributor. It is better to be capped then open, but you really should have vacuum advance hooked up. What distributor are you running? Pics will help.

#3 ·