68' Engine Dress-Up - Vintage Mustang Forums

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-17-2019, 09:35 AM Thread Starter

68' Engine Dress-Up

Hello all,
I am new to VMF. I apologize if this is a topic that has already been addressed (Iím sure it has). I am currently rebuilding a 68 Mustang coupe with a 289 in it. Iím looking for your opinions on the best way to dress up the engine. Currently I have pulled the engine from the car and I am repainting the block back to the original blue color. Specifically talking about valve covers, air cleaners etc. what looks the best in your opinion? I like both the chrome and the wrinkle black styles. Also please leave any additional tips to make the engine bay look its very best. I appreciate any feedback or photos from you guys. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-17-2019, 09:48 AM

Send a message via Yahoo to Woodchuck
All depends on what look you want to emulate... vintage/classic, retromod, "racing", etc., to your individual taste. There are so many choices and so many opinions out there.

For me, I like the "vintage" look with the Cobra finned aluminum valve covers in "bare" aluminum (you can paint in "natural aluminum" to protect the bare metal), blue base/chrome top "HiPo" open element air cleaner, and that's about it. Other folks like the OE HiPo valve covers (chrome) and still others like the newer welded aluminum covers. Whatever trips your trigger....

I like the look of Tom's (Huskinhano) GT-40P....

Bart

What, me worry?
- Alfred E. Neuman

post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-17-2019, 09:57 AM

I like vintage as well, but have always been partial to the black crinkle. Just enough chrome to hi-light but not overly bling.

Here is a shot with the original Air cleaner

Here is after I switched to the Cobra aircleaner. It really makes the engine compartment stand out. Hard to see in the pic, but in person it looked great.