Where to run radio wires? - Vintage Mustang Forums
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-14-2019, 07:37 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ophthos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: South Eastern MA
Posts: 199
Garage
Where to run radio wires?

So I spent the afternoon fishing wires, measuring length, and planning the layout of my stereo system. I got a package deal from Retrsound with head unit, dual voice coil premium dash speaker, kick panels with premium speakers, and Quadraphonic 4 channel amp. The Amp is going in the trunk A few questions:

1) I read that running your speaker wire and a power source is OK, I also read it will cause interference. I already ran the speaker wire from the trunk along the PS rocker well along with an 18 G wire that goes to a switched source and taped them all together. Will I have an issue? I can pull the power wire out and re-run it but I've already wrapped the wires with loom tape.

2) I also have to run a power feed from the amp directly to the battery. This wire (supplied from Retrosound) has a built in 15 amp fuse. Should I drill a hole in the firewall and run this, or since I have a new wiring loom with modern fuse box, I can tap into a spare constant power wire that has a 15 AMP fuse? Retrosound says to have the fuse within 18" from the battery. Running it directly to the battery isn't an issue, just where do I run it? The PS rocker well has speaker wire in it and I don't have enough cable to go down the DS rocker well. What about running both power lines down the center of the car, under the carpet and the console?

3) The kick panel for the PS side wont fit next to the fresh air vent. Has anyone put a kick panel with speakers that fit in a 66? If so where did you get it?

66 Convertible, GT clone. 289 4V, C4. Springtime yellow with black top
ophthos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-15-2019, 03:34 PM
Senior Member
 
DrHawkeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 1,537
Garage
I ran my power wire to the battery thru an existing hole in the firewall way back when. Don't remember which hole it was, but I pushed it thru something that was already there. Shouldn't need to drill another hole.
DrHawkeye is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-15-2019, 06:29 PM
Senior Member
 
22GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 33,727
The spike on the back of the ignition switch is an accessory switched direct connection to the battery, and was used by Ford for radios, AC, tape players, etc.

Amateur restorer. Well, sometimes I have been paid for it. But not right now.
22GT is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-15-2019, 07:18 PM
Senior Member
 
DrVett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Seattle
Posts: 173
Garage
Radio wiring

[QUOTE=ophthos;10199048]So I spent the afternoon fishing wires, measuring length, and planning the layout of my stereo system. I got a package deal from Retrsound with head unit, dual voice coil premium dash speaker, kick panels with premium speakers, and Quadraphonic 4 channel amp. The Amp is going in the trunk A few questions:

1) I read that running your speaker wire and a power source is OK, I also read it will cause interference. I already ran the speaker wire from the trunk along the PS rocker well along with an 18 G wire that goes to a switched source and taped them all together. Will I have an issue? I can pull the power wire out and re-run it but I've already wrapped the wires with loom tape.


I ran the speaker wires down the passenger side and the power to the amp in the trunk down the driver's side.

2) I also have to run a power feed from the amp directly to the battery. This wire (supplied from Retrosound) has a built in 15 amp fuse. Should I drill a hole in the firewall and run this, or since I have a new wiring loom with modern fuse box, I can tap into a spare constant power wire that has a 15 AMP fuse? Retrosound says to have the fuse within 18" from the battery. Running it directly to the battery isn't an issue, just where do I run it? The PS rocker well has speaker wire in it and I don't have enough cable to go down the DS rocker well. What about running both power lines down the center of the car, under the carpet and the console?


I drilled a hole in the firewall toward the center and up from the steering column. Don't forget to place the grommet in the hole prior to running the wire to protect the wire from fraying. Then I ran the power wire to the battery along with the other wires on the passenger side under the export brace.

I wouldn't run the wires down the middle of the car. If you need to access them, much harder. (ask me how I know!)


Allen
DrVett is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-15-2019, 08:44 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ophthos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: South Eastern MA
Posts: 199
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by 22GT View Post
The spike on the back of the ignition switch is an accessory switched direct connection to the battery, and was used by Ford for radios, AC, tape players, etc.
I hooked up my electric choke to that. I was thinking about using it for the radio but my new underdash wiring harness has fused switched and non switched spares that I'm going to use. Easier access plus its fused.

66 Convertible, GT clone. 289 4V, C4. Springtime yellow with black top
ophthos is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-15-2019, 08:48 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ophthos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: South Eastern MA
Posts: 199
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrVett View Post
I drilled a hole in the firewall toward the center and up from the steering column. Don't forget to place the grommet in the hole prior to running the wire to protect the wire from fraying. Then I ran the power wire to the battery along with the other wires on the passenger side under the export brace.

I wouldn't run the wires down the middle of the car. If you need to access them, much harder. (ask me how I know!)


Allen
So I ran the non switched wire today and it isn't long enough to reach the battery from the trunk. It will reach my fuse panel. So I'm gonna tap into a fused non switched power wire there.

Anyone know why Retrosound would want a fuse within 18" of the battery? Whats wrong with using a fused power source from my circuit panel?

66 Convertible, GT clone. 289 4V, C4. Springtime yellow with black top
ophthos is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-16-2019, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
 
DrVett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Seattle
Posts: 173
Garage
Radio wiring

Quote:
Originally Posted by ophthos View Post
So I ran the non switched wire today and it isn't long enough to reach the battery from the trunk. It will reach my fuse panel. So I'm gonna tap into a fused non switched power wire there.

Anyone know why Retrosound would want a fuse within 18" of the battery? Whats wrong with using a fused power source from my circuit panel?
https://www.lifewire.com/do-i-need-a...mp-fuse-534588
DrVett is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-16-2019, 12:19 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ophthos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: South Eastern MA
Posts: 199
Garage



Well that makes sense. I guess I'll have to solder in and extension to get it to the battery.


Thanks for the info.

66 Convertible, GT clone. 289 4V, C4. Springtime yellow with black top
ophthos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Vintage Mustang Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome