10Likes
  • 2 Post By Grimbrand
  • 2 Post By cmefly
  • 3 Post By Redneckgearhead
  • 2 Post By jaseology
  • 1 Post By rbohm

post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 08:02 PM Thread Starter

Engine and transmission advice for a beginner

Hello everyone, this is my first post. I recently got my first Mustang. It's a 1966 Mustang coupe. I am new to this and have a lot of learning to do. My first question is this: I want to know what's the largest carbureted egine that can fit in it and which transmission should I get to nicely complement that engine? I don't want to modify the shock towers. I simply want to install a new engine. Thank you. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 08:07 PM

A 351 Windsor or 351 Cleveland is the largest (physical dimensions) engine that can be installed in a '66 without modifying the shock towers. Both of those engines can be bored and stroked to 408 cubic inches. You can install a 4 speed or 5 speed transmission behind either of them.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 08:07 PM
Supporting Member

Garage
351W stroked to a 408 or 427 with a Toploader 4 speed. Hope you have the budget to support the build.

Welcome to the forum.

Thread posted in incorrect forum by the way.

Regards,
Patrick

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 08:12 PM Thread Starter

Thank you both for the advice. Sorry about posting the thread in the wrong forum. Which one would be more appropriate to post in? Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by patrickstapler View Post
351W stroked to a 408 or 427 with a Toploader 4 speed. Hope you have the budget to support the build.

Welcome to the forum.

post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 08:15 PM
Supporting Member

Garage
The high traffic area will be the main forum. Your thread would also fit into the Mod & Custom forum, but likely with a little less response. The Mod of this section will likely move your thread.

Regards,
Patrick