Fastback 390 truck bellhousing - Vintage Mustang Forums
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-15-2019, 11:16 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
Fastback 390 truck bellhousing

I’m installing a 390 into my “s” code fastback. The Toploader I got is out of 390 Fairlane with wide ratio. The problem I got is I can’t find a bellhousing expect a truck one and from what I heard it won’t work. Please give me some feedback
Huntingky likes this.
Sylvesterlesiv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-15-2019, 11:26 PM
Senior Member
 
C6ZZGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: seattle wa
Posts: 519
1-welcome
2-put your location in
3-What happened to the bell from the Fairlane ?
Huntingky likes this.

6r07a143871 --owned since 10/83
C6ZZGT is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 12:15 AM
Senior Member
 
gregb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Redondo Beach CA
Posts: 2,454
The truck bellhousing is deeper than the car version, and won't work if you have a proper 390 toploader.........

69 Mach One, 428CJ, 5 Speed, 3.91's.
gregb is offline  
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 12:20 AM
Senior Member
 
awhtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: The Hill Country of Central Texas
Posts: 9,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylvesterlesiv View Post
Please give me some feedback

Buy a scattershield.
awhtx is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 12:27 AM
Senior Member
 
gregb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Redondo Beach CA
Posts: 2,454
You should join the FE Power forum and post a wanted. Facebook also has an FE group FE Fanatics...
the bellhousing you need isn't common to see for sale anymore, although they weren't exactly rare. It wont be cheap.
The truck housing can be used if you swap out the input shaft in the trans with a small block version, but will cause other things to not be right also, the shifter wont be centered and you would need a different driveshaft. Not sure if the trans mount will line up. If you can't find the right one and don't need it for a restoration you might consider a Quicktime bellhousing.

69 Mach One, 428CJ, 5 Speed, 3.91's.
gregb is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 06:44 AM
Senior Member
 
sixtysevenGTconv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: N.H.
Posts: 5,341
The toploader tail shaft that was used in a 67/68 (guessing since you gave no year info) was casting # C6OR-7A040-C or C7OR-7A040-A.

Bell housing for 67 390 mustang casting # C6OA-6394-D. For 68, either C6OA-6394-D (before date 2/15/68), after # C8OA-6394-A.

If you borrow a tool more than twice, you need to own it You get what you pay for!
George email: <[email protected]>
sixtysevenGTconv is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 11:22 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
I can’t find a scatter shield for 390. All of them are for small block ford and chevys. Can you send me direct link to the one your referring to?
Sylvesterlesiv is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 11:45 AM
Senior Member
Supporting Member
 
Redneckgearhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sauk Centre MN.
Posts: 1,865
https://www.summitracing.com/search/...gine-type%3Av8

Pricey

On second look I didn't see any for top loader.....

Scott

Never let the truth get in the way of a good story

Last edited by Redneckgearhead; 08-16-2019 at 11:48 AM.
Redneckgearhead is online now  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 11:51 AM
Senior Member
 
awhtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: The Hill Country of Central Texas
Posts: 9,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylvesterlesiv View Post
Can you send me direct link to the one your referring to?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/ANSEN-FORD-...1dP6jN&vxp=mtr
awhtx is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 12:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 116
Bill over at Mansfield has the correct C60A-D bellhousing and can likely get you a date code that works for your car.
Transmission Page 1
SunnDogg is offline  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 12:44 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
That’s what I’m saying. They don’t have a aftermarket bellhousing that would go on between 390 and Toploader ( the butterfly type). I have heard people on forums people saying to use the truck bellhousing, but a small block Toploader because of longer input shaft. PLEASE, Please anyone who did this kind of set up speak or truley successfully married a 390 and Toploader speak. The rest of you who never done it, I thank you and respect that your trying to help out but your confusing everyone.
Sylvesterlesiv is offline  
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 12:49 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by SunnDogg View Post
Bill over at Mansfield has the correct C60A-D bellhousing and can likely get you a date code that works for your car.
Transmission Page 1


Thank you sir, I’ll try giving him a call
Sylvesterlesiv is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 01:58 PM
Senior Member
 
maladezo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Californication
Posts: 1,080
Garage
If your flywheel has an 11" bolt pattern, the McLeod MCL-75112 is a really sweet 400 hp clutch. Just in case you wanted to know!

'67 coupe, 390, 4spd.
maladezo is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 03:39 PM
Supporting Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Meridian Idaho
Posts: 9
This is Bret with Modern Driveline. Some insight to the FE Car and Truck bells. The car bell measures 6 1/2" deep and the truck bell measures 6 3/4" deep. You can use the truck bell with the correct transmission. Or Modern Driveline has Quick Time (QT) bell housings that measures 6 1/2" deep.

Now if you really want to get creative, get the truck FE bell housing (this will save you money. The QT bell is not cheap), Modern Driveline can configure a TKO 5 speed transmission with a shortened input shaft for the Truck bell and we can modify the case of the transmission to fit the car w/o any tunnel mods.
Grimbrand likes this.
Bruce-ModernDriveLine is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 10:55 PM
Senior Member
 
sixtysevenGTconv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: N.H.
Posts: 5,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylvesterlesiv View Post
PLEASE, Please anyone who did this kind of set up speak or truley successfully married a 390 and Toploader speak. The rest of you who never done it, I thank you and respect that your trying to help out but your confusing everyone.
Well then, my 67 is a factory 390 GT 4 spd car.
Here's some pics of my stock setup.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg xmission1.jpg (455.7 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg 390bellh.jpg (533.1 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg my engine in6.jpg (477.6 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg My 390done4.jpg (518.4 KB, 3 views)

If you borrow a tool more than twice, you need to own it You get what you pay for!
George email: <[email protected]>
sixtysevenGTconv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Vintage Mustang Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome