Vacuum problems?? - Vintage Mustang Forums
 2Likes

post #1 of 46 (permalink) Old 08-24-2019, 07:15 AM Thread Starter

Vacuum problems??

I've been diagnosing various problems that seem vacuum related with my 68 factory A/C system. Yesterday it acted really strange. The automatic trans kept slipping out of gear, forward or reverse. I could put it in neutral, rev it a bit, drop back into gear and it would usually catch. Then I also noticed the power brakes were super sensitive. I only had it running for a minute while I moved it from one garage bay to another. Sound like a vacuum issue? A few days earlier I noticed a back leak from the A/C reservoir canister (i.e it wouldn't hold it's vacuum when the engine is revved or after it is shut off) so I installed an inline check valve in the hose supplying vacuum to the canister. That seemed to fix the back leak. Could it be a culprit?

I am neither a fast mechanic nor a slow mechanic. I am a half-fast mechanic.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 46 (permalink) Old 08-24-2019, 07:53 AM

Garage
Your trans issue sounds like it's low on fluid. The vacuum modulator has no effect on shifting in or out of a gear, it only affects part-throttle shift points.

Nothing worthwhile is ever quick, cheap or easy, those that can't do, complain

71 Mach 1

HOLLEY TECH PAGES
FORD OE TACH HOOKUP FORD OE TACH HOOKUP w/MSD (pg 7)
post #3 of 46 (permalink) Old 08-24-2019, 09:18 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hemikiller View Post
Your trans issue sounds like it's low on fluid. The vacuum modulator has no effect on shifting in or out of a gear, it only affects part-throttle shift points.
What is the proper way to check trans fluid level? The Shop Manual doesn't go into that, at least not in the auto trans section. I kinda remember to check some old trans you had to have it in drive gear at idle.

post #4 of 46 (permalink) Old 08-24-2019, 10:19 AM

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Winch View Post