Vintage Mustang Forums banner

Synthetic Oil

7K views 39 replies 20 participants last post by  JJHstang 
#1 ·
I was sure this was discussed but tried a search but only found for newer mustangs.
With the way current oil is without ZDDP,, should or shouldn't a person use synthetic oil?
I have 71 Mach 1 with a 351 W 4V . Don't know anything about the engine. Purchased it with the 351 W. It came from the factory with a 302 2V.
I have heard it can lubricate better including seals but may get leaks.

#5 ·
Do a search here on the forum, there are LOTS of current threads on this.

The short answer is that synthetic is just fine, just make sure you have higher levels of ZDDP for a flat tappet cam - if you have one.

#6 ·
I don't think there are any valid reasons for avoiding synthetic oils. Almost every refiner makes a high quality synthetic oil, so there are many fine choices.

The Mobil 1 15w-50 and 0w-40 are the two products I've been using since around 1999 and many tens of thousands of miles. No oiling issues, ever. Pick an oil with over 1000 ppm of zinc / phosphorus and you won't have any problems regardless of brand.

Z

PS. In the rare event you do get a oil leak after changing to a synthetic oil, just fix the leak, don't go back to conventional oils.

#10 ·
I don't think there are any valid reasons for avoiding synthetic oils. .
Cost is always valid when it conflicts ego with actual needs. $4 on 5qts might be 20-25%:x

After I did my research I also ended up with Mobile 1 15W-50. It has the same zinc and phosphorus level as the Valvoline VR1 oil.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I hope you used valid info in your research, as in most current. The 15W-50 has gone down in ZDDP over the years from red cap to black cap now silver cap. Its still fine though.
VR1 is listed for racing/off-road for a reason. The consequence is it should be changed more frequently.:nerd:

ZDDP doesn't need to be the definitive factors anymore. Molybendum and Boron serve the same purposes.