66 Mustang Drum Brake Help - Vintage Mustang Forums
 5Likes

post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 08-30-2019, 12:20 PM Thread Starter

66 Mustang Drum Brake Help

I recently got my car back on the road after a little over a year. I've always been very happy with the way it stopped with the drums all around with single bowl master cylinder with bootster. Since it's been back from the shop it just doesn't feel the same. Reading threads on here has given me a lot of ideas. I know I need to, at a minimum, go to a duel master cylinder. I'm now also considering a front disk conversion when I can afford it. Either way, I plan to ditch the booster. Also, the E-Brake has never worked so I would like to get that fixed as well.

Short term I want to just get everything working. I have no brake experience but with the right tools (I'm currently stalking CL HARD for a good floor jack) and a YouTube video or two I think I can get it down. I started by pulling the wheels off to see what I have. This is the right rear. Do these pads look like they have some life left in them? What about the drums? I didn't see any cracks or anything that jumped out at me.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_7991.jpg (423.5 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7992.jpg (402.2 KB, 55 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7994.jpg (311.2 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7995.jpg (422.8 KB, 9 views)

1966 Coupe "The Blue Falcon"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 08-30-2019, 12:38 PM Thread Starter

Now the Concerns

I get to the front. Here's what I see. I haven't seen front brakes that look like this before. It looks more like a rear drum to me. What gives? I apologize for you having to tile your head to 9 o'clock to see the pics. I can't figure that out.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_8005.jpg (422.6 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_8008.jpg (453.6 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_8009.jpg (399.8 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_8012.jpg (498.9 KB, 12 views)